ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Avalon78 - Shared MGA license but not exclusions

Ruling

Found for the Casino - This player's play took place before their exclusion was put in place. As such they are not entitled to a refund in this instance.

Read our Avalon78 Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

joined Avalon78 today and made a few deposits.

It wasnt until i was checking their other casino details that i realised they a sister casino of Spinia and Playamo, i note that they share a MGA license with Spinia (MGA/B2C/394/2017)

I am excluded with both of these casinos for being a problem gambler and i excluded with them both telling them i am having troubles due to gambling and a responsible casino should do they excluded me. I even asked Spinia to open my account again and the request was rejected by management there so they are aware im a problem gambler.

After doing some research, and having it confirmed by live chat, if im excluded on one of the brands that use the license then i should be excluded on any other on that license.

I joined using identical details to that of the other casino im excluded from ([EDIT]). So I don’t know how this could be allowed.

I shouldn't be able to create an account with identical details and deposit if im already excluded at the other casinos.

When contacting Avalon they responded with ‘the license does not support cross-casino exclusions, unfortunately, we can not assist you in this case.’ And that ‘Spinia has been closed per your request just for account closure without any issues’. This is not correct, I told spinia I don’t want to have it opened due to gamling issues so I don’t know what reason they put on the closure but its not in my hands I was just happy the account was closed.

It doesn’t seem right that they share a license but not sharing it for responsible gaming practices.

I requested my deposits back but I was declined for the reason they don’t support cross-casino exclusions so I am reaching out to the MGA for your help.

Thank you

Read the casino review

13 Responses

ThePOGG
March 6, 2021

Hi joemama - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Please ensure you have read our Complaint Guidance to ensure that fully understand how our complaint management process functions.

As we are the ADR for the N1 Interactive Ltd license under the Malta Gaming Authority license there is certain information we have to provide you now.

You can find all the relevant information about this service here – http://thepogg.com/terms-of-use/ and the terms of use for our complaint service here - https://thepogg.com/terms-of-use-for-dispute-resolution-service/

To summarise.

– Use of this service does not preclude your seeking redress through court proceedings .

– This service is free to use for both the complainant and operator.

– At any point during the procedure the submitting party retains the right to withdraw their complaint. This does not preclude our right to continue the discussion with the involved operator of general issues related to the complaint (i.e. insufficiently clear terms and conditions).

– You are not obliged to obtain independent or legal advice or representation, though you may choose to do so.

If you have any questions about the above, let me know.

When you self-excluded from Spinia and Playamo, did you request that the exclusion extend to other properties on the license? Did you engage any play AFTER Live Chat informed you that self-exclusions apply to all properties on the license?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

joemama
March 6, 2021

Hello,

Thanks for the response to this.

When I excluded with them I didn’t know I had to tell them that I wanted excluded accross all of their brands. Perhaps that was too naive of me to assume that it would automatically apply accross all the brands. I did get the vip manager of playamo messaging me saying the following ‘ I feel so sorry for your problems with gambling. ?

Your account has been closed permanently.

I wish you to never lose non-in-game, non in life! ’

I just wanted my accounts closed as I can’t trust myself with online gambling any more, I told them I have gambling problems, I didn’t know that I had to say I wanted them to block me from all their sites. I assume that would happen automatically accross their network when I inform them of the issue.

I did not engage in any play once live chat told me that.

ThePOGG
March 7, 2021

Hi joemama,

Under the MGA licensing system, self-exclusion only apply to the property they are requested at unless there is an explicit request from the player that they carry over to other properties on the license.

Sorry we cannot be of further help,

ThePOGG

joemama
March 7, 2021

Even if both properties share the same licence?

More unethical than anything else from them, knowing on one site i have an issue but allowing play on the other. I still feel they have a duty of care to the players and should do the right thing here.

THanks for your help.

joemama
March 9, 2021

Hi again,

You mention ‘ When you self-excluded from Spinia and Playamo, did you request that the exclusion extend to other properties on the license? Did you engage any play AFTER Live Chat informed you that self-exclusions apply to all properties on the license?’

Upon further enquiry to the casino they don’t actually offer to extend the exclusion to other properties. I asked them to remove me from all casinos on their network and their other sister casinos, they responded with;

‘ We can take only per our casino, we cannot take you off from whole world casinos as it is impossible

In our casino, you are fully closed’

So even if I ask to exclude from all of their sister sites they can’t do it which seems wrong too me.

ThePOGG
March 10, 2021

Hi joemama,

If you have asked at one of their Curacao licensed properties, there will be no functionality to extend self-exclusions across the license. This is not something that any of the Curacao Master License holders current require.

If you ask at an MGA licensed property then they must extend your self-exclusion to every property on the MGA license.

As stated already, if you have not made this request your self-exclusion will only apply at the property you requested it at.

This is the same response your other complaint against Casino Chan would receive.

Sorry we cannot be of further help.

ThePOGG

joemama
March 10, 2021

Spinia, which is a MGA liscense casino responded with the following;

‘’ Dear Player,

We can take only per our casino, we cannot take you off from whole world casinos as it is impossible

In our casino, you are fully closed ’

So this goes against what Avalon are telling me that I do r ask for exclusion accross all their brands, as according to Spinia then it wouldn’t have mattered as it’s not something they do.

ThePOGG
March 14, 2021

Hi joemama,

I can certainly raise the fact that Spinia have given out incorrect information with the license holder, but unless this information was given to you BEFORE your play, it would not have a bearing on your request for a refund.

Please forward the communication in question to [email protected].

Thanks,

ThePOGG

joemama
March 14, 2021

Ive emailed you the email chain where SPinia confirmed that they do not have the functionality to block me from other casinos.

ThePOGG
March 21, 2021

Hi jomama,

Reviewing the chat transcript you forwarded, the operator has NOT told you that they cannot do a license wide self-exclusion. They have told you that the cannot institute an exclusion across the whole MGA licensing system. They are correct that a regulator wide self-exclusion does not exist.

Nevertheless I will contact the operator and ensure that your exclusion has been extended to all properties on the N1 Interactive license.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
April 4, 2021

Hi jomama,

A license wide self-exclusion was applied to your accounts on the 5th of March, before your Live Chat conversation.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

joemama
April 4, 2021

Hello,

THanks for the update. If a license wide self-exclusion was applied then shouldnt that have meant that i could not join and deposit on Avalon78?

THank you

ThePOGG
April 18, 2021

Hi joemama,

Your last play with Avalon78 was at 18:00 server time on the 5/3. Your exclusion was put in place at 21:53.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

joemama consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Avalon 78
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • N1 Interactive Ltd

March 6, 2021

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.