ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Bet Regal - Refusal to payout

Ruling

Declined - This issue has been submitted to the operator’s official ADR/received a ruling from another ADR.

Read our Cookie Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hi, i joined Betregal and deposited £1250 from my bank account through paypal. I bet on 1 race and got back £790. I provided the usual id, passport, proof of address and proof of paypal ownership. I tried to withdraw and they started asking for other ID. I sent in the bank statement from where the funds were deposited but because its an account that i use as savings and money i gamble with it wasnt good enough stating they did not know how i had managed to save the £1250 to depoit to them. I have now sent in the statement dating back to March where i had collected £1280 from skybet into that account and i used that mobey to deposit to them. I also sent in my payslip where i earned £969 in June but they said i didnt earn enough to deposit £1250 into their account. I tried to tell them that i deposited using money that i had won months previous and was happy to play with those winnings. They are now asking for my joint bank account monthly statement that my bills are paid from but this has no relevance because i deposited from the bank my Skybet winnings were paid into and have provided bank statement from that account for 4 months statement showing my winnings from Sky that covered the deposits to them. Im lost for words as im being treated like a criminal for just trying to withdraw my own money. Please could you try to help to get this mess sorted.

Read the casino review

11 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
August 6, 2020

Hi kgrimwood78 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Where did the funds that you used to generate the winnings at Skybet come from?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
kgrimwood78
August 6, 2020

Hi, the money i deposited to Sky back in 2018 was from this same savings account. The money was built up with winnings. The account is £2500 in profit since joining back in 2018 and i have sent a screenshot to betregal confirming this. The withdrawal from sky went into the bank account that i deposited to Betregal with. This withdrawal in March for £1280 covered the deposits to betregal. Sky had no issue with any of my deposits and promptly paid my winnings because they had verified my id.

User icon
ThePOGG
August 7, 2020

Hi kgrimwood78,

My question isn't about your winnings at Skybet, they're irrelevant, I want to know where you obtained the funds to deposit to Sky in the first place? If you are citing winnings at Sky as the source of funds for your play at Bet Regal, you are then going to have to demonstrate where you obtained the funds which you used to play with at Sky. The gambling winnings with Skybet could only be considered legitimate funds if the funds used to play with Skybet came from a legal source. So if you are looking to demonstrate that winnings from Skybet are the source of funds for your deposit to Bet Regal, you also need to demonstrate that the funds deposited to Skybet that resulted in the win came from earnings/sale of assets/inheritance etc etc.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
kgrimwood78
August 7, 2020

Hi, i deposited £10 for the bet £10 get £30 offer. I honestly did not know that i had to sell property to be able to afford to deposit £10 to Sky in 2018. I have worked all my life but went part time when my children were born. My partner worked full time which also allowed me a bit of leisure money. The funds from Skybet were built up from the small deposit. If Skybet had any concerns about my source of wealth then that is their job to question where the £10 came from to deposit to them and win. They have no problems with my withdrawals. The winnings were then used to deposit into Betregal. As long as Betregal know the funds i used to deposit to them came from a legitimate source (skybet) then they have forfilled their legal obligation. I have no association with crime, im more than happy for Betregal to call the police and for me to show them all my finances. Its my own money i was betting with, winnings from Sky so i dont see the problem. I can send a statement back from January where i was paid a further £900 from Sky with no deposits in Jan or Feb or ever only withdrawals and those winnings remained in my savings until i decided to have a bet on what looked like a valuble betting opportunity because Betregal were paying an extra place. One of the gambling commissions licencing objectives is that gambling is conducted in a fair and open way. How is it fair to let me deposit with no questions but then i try to withdraw £800 and its like i am suddenly after 42 years on earth now a criminal?

User icon
ThePOGG
August 11, 2020

Hi kgrimswood78,

Actually, no they wouldn't have fulfilled their legal obligations. Relying on another gambling entity to have properly conducted their own AML procedures would not represent a strong defence if the operator were later challenged about why they processed transactions.

I again need to ask - can you show where the funds that you deposited to Sky came from? If all of this balance has been run up at Skybet, then you simply need to demonstrate where the initial deposit to Skybet came from and we have sound ground to challenge the operator. Funds must have been transferred into this savings account at some point. Where did they come from?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
kgrimwood78
August 11, 2020

Im sure betting companies do mot need to check for a £10 deposit that is ludicrous! I surely dont need to go back 24 years to when i put some 18th birthday money into my savings account ha ha! We are not talking vast sums of money here. The statement i sent in shows winnings from skybet and i used tose winnings to deposit to Betregal. This could go on forever because i have had numerous betting accounts that have had winnings so where does it end.... i could have deposited into b365 and won from there and then deposited to sky. Would you then say where did you get the money from to put into b365! Also in 2004 my parents gave my brother £15,000 for a deposit for his first house and said when he saved £15,000 then pay them back. When he went to pay them back they said instead of paying them give your sister £7500 then you have both had the same. ( They had their own business and do no beed the money) so do i need to go back to whenever to show my brother giving me £7500? Also any money i used to get of my grandma when i was a kid do i need to send that in? I will just go to IBAS because you must clearly work for betregal and are stalling the process. I am willing to go to court over this because they cant keep my money when i have used winnings from Sky to bet with! Complete joke!

User icon
ThePOGG
August 11, 2020

Hi kgrimwook78,

As explained - you need to demonstrate the source of the funds you have used to gamble with. There either is a clear point of original funds or there's not. If you cannot show the clear point of origin there's nothing further we can do to assist you.

ThePOGG

User icon
kgrimwood78
August 11, 2020

Hi, i dont know what you mean the origonal source? I have had that savings account since i was 18 so in 1996. Do i need to go back to that date to show money going in for my 18th birthday 24 years ago? I work so sent my wage slip to betregal so surly that shows source of funds! I dont fancy trying to ask the bank for a statement from 1996? The deposit to skybet was for £10 which again was in 2018 and i have only ever withdrawn money since then so i doubt Skybet have done anything wrong accepting a £10 deposit? I know for a fact 100% that Betregal cant keep my money because there is a clear path of withdrawals from sky and then deposits to betregal 3 months later! They have 4 months bank statements confirming this! I will just go to Ibas where hopefully their staff are trained on AML procedures. It would be impossible to go back 24 years to ask my grandma if she put £10 in my bank because she is dead now! Complete joke all this!

User icon
ThePOGG
August 13, 2020

Hi kgrimwood78,

Original source is exactly what it sounds like - you had money in your bank account which you used to deposit to Skybet. You need to show how you came into possession of this funds? If you cannot show how you acquired these funds then there is a problem here and nothing we can do to assist you.

Nobody has asked you to go back 24 years. We've asked you to demonstrate how you originally came into possession of funds that you used to gamble with only a few months ago. You're the one who has then represented this a so complex that this could never be unravelled.

We wish you the best of luck with IBAS.

ThePOGG

User icon
kgrimwood78
August 14, 2020

Hi,

Sorry you are right! I have just looked on my bank statement from 2018 and i see that i collected £126.75 from B365 on 8/2/2018. From those winnings i then deposited £10 into a brand new Skybet account on 12/2/2018. I remember they had a bet £10 get £30 offer on. I bet £10 on a football bet and won £140.38. From then i continued to win most months and there have been no further deposits to Sky since that date only withdrawals. I withdrew £900 in Jan 2020 and then £1285.20 on 17th March 2020. I hope with this evidence yiu will be able to help me? Thanks

User icon
ThePOGG
August 18, 2020

Hi kgrimwood78,

No winnings from Bet365 would not be sufficient.

You need to demonstrate where the money you have gambled with has come from. i.e. you need to show a deposit of funds to this bank account from earnings, sale of assets, inheritance, transfer from another account in your name, gift from a family member etc etc etc. At some point the money you have used to gamble with the various operators you have listed has to have had a legal and legitimate source showing you as the owner. You need to show that source. If this has then been recycled through various operators, that's fine, but the original source of the funds would need to be established before we could assist you. So where did the money you deposited to Bet365 come from?

Have you submitted your complaint to IBAS?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

kgrimwood78 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Bet Regal
  • Curacao eGaming
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • Aspire Global International Ltd

August 6, 2020

United States country flag