ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Betable - doesn't pay people outside UK

Ruling

Resolved - While the delays in payment of this player were obviously undesirable, Betable were not actively marking within the player's geo-location and delayed only as long as necessary for them to meet their legal requirements.

Player's Complaint

My username at betable.com is [EDIT]. I deposited 100 pounds in betable.com, and won 4000 pounds, but they won't pay me and sent me this message:

Hello [EDIT],

We simply do not allow gambling from Norway.

Your deposit will be refunded and all bets voided. Please expect the £100 refund in your account within 1-3 banking days.

Thanks for your patience and understanding.

Kind Regards

[EDIT]

Customer Support // Betable

support[@]betable.com

9 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
January 5, 2015

Hi Renstav10 - welcome to ThePOGG.com and Happy New Year!

I've just tested the Betable sign-up process using a Norwegian proxy and can confirm that not only am I able to sign-up, but they provide an option to register a Norwegian telephone number.

Alongside this, their terms only restrict countries where online gambling is prohibited. I'm not aware of any such restriction in Norway.

I'll contact Betable and see what I can find out for you.

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
January 7, 2015

Hi Renstav10

To keep you in the loop I am now speaking with Betable about this issue. I can't say too much right now, but I think I understand what the issue is and at this point I believe a favourable outcome could be reached. I'll keep you informed as I find out more.

All the best,

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
January 8, 2015

Hi Renstav10,

I've had a full conversation with Betable regarding this issue.

Betable are not currently able to comply with their legally required Know Your Customer obligations for players outside of the UK. They don't have the infrastructure to properly confirm the validity of foreign documentation. For the time being they keep the multi-national access facility open for their UK players that happen to be travelling abroad and do not actively advertise to non-UK players.

As you don't have a UK address Betable cannot conform to their legal requirements to verify you prior to paying you. They would be breaking the law and their license agreement if they did.

Given that nothing on the Betable website offers any indications of these restrictions there's really no reasonable way that you could have been aware of this prior to cashing out and obviously that fault does not fall on you. I've discussed at length with Betable the potential solutions to remedy this for future players.

With regard to your issue specifically, I don't have an immediate solution, but I do have a solution. Betable are in the process of gathering the necessary resources to allow them to verify non-UK resident players and expect to be able to manage Norwegian players within the next 3 months. If you are prepared to wait that time and go through the verification process, rather than returning your deposit Betable would be prepared to pay you in full (assuming satisfactory documentation is provided).

While I realise this is a frustrating wait, given the £3900 on the line I'm confident you'll agree that the wait is preferable to losing the money. Let me know if this is agreeable to you.

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
January 9, 2015

Hi Renstav10, I'm afraid this isn't a negotiation. This is either an 'accept the offer or don't' situation. If you accept the offer you will have to wait until Betable have the facility to meet their legal requirements. If you don't your deposit will be returned and that will be the end of the conversation. Regarding complaining to their regulator - I agree that's a possible route to go down, but I strongly suspect that you'll gain no ground. Yes Betable will ultimately get reprimanded for allowing this situation to arise in the first place, but given that this is about anti-fraud laws the regulator simply couldn't enforce your payment without being in breach of the laws themselves. These are legal constrains, not something that can be waived to suit the circumstances. By their license Betable are taking the appropriately sanctioned action when it is not possible to verify the identity of an account holder, that being to close their account and return all deposits. Moreover, if you follow through with your stated plan of taking this to various forms - while I absolutely agree it is your right to do so - I will be withdrawing from these discussions. Running this service, my top priority is to do what I can to get rightfully won funds returned to players. Where a player takes action that I feel is actively working against that priority I reserve the right to withdraw from representation. As things stand, while I understand that this is a frustrating situation and I agree it has been mismanaged by Betable, in my opinion and based on my experiences dealing with hundreds of player complaints no benefit will be gained from taking the action you've discussed. Certainly not within the 1 month time frame you've imposed. In fact I feel this action would jeopardise your chances or receiving anything beyond your deposit. Let me know what your intentions are and I'll forward this information to Betable and take appropriate action on this complaint. ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
January 9, 2015

Hi Renstav10,

Thanks for getting back to me. As I mentioned before I completely understand your frustration with this situation. It's not of your making any you're inconvenienced due to it. I do think that the best course of action is to wait and I'm glad to hear you've agreed to that.

As things stand after my conversation with Betable, I do believe that they fully intend to pay you once they can verify your documentation. Nothing about my conversation with them suggests anything more sinister and in fact it was Betable that suggested that they could suspend your account until such time and they could pay you.

I'll check in with Betable regularly over the next few months to see what progress is being made and will keep you informed of any changes.

All the best,

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
February 16, 2015

Hi Renstav10,

I've just contact Betable to ensure things are progressing within the expected time frame. They've informed me that they're actually ahead of schedule and should be able to verify your account within the next 2 weeks :)

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
March 12, 2015

Hi Renstav10,

I've just received word from Betable that your account has been verified and you're now free to withdraw.

Could you please let me know when you receive your funds?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
March 18, 2015

Hi Renstav10,

I've just been approached by Betable support again. They've been trying unsuccessfully to reach you. If you could get back in contact with them that would be very helpful.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
March 23, 2015

Hi Renstav10,

I'm going to hold this complaint open until Friday the 3rd of April. If I haven't heard from you by then I'll assume you no longer need my assistance. The funds are ready for you to withdraw, so all you need to do is request a withdrawal and let me know when the payment arrives.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

Renstav10 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

January 5, 2015

United States country flag