ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Betfinal - not obeying responsible gaming.

Ruling

Found for the Casino - This player has failed to provide the required permissions to allow BetFinal to discuss this case. As such the complaint is found in against the party that created the barrier.

Player's Complaint

I'll start of with saying I tend to compulsive gamble hence why whenever I sign up I try to set deposit limit to 50 euros a week almost instantly. I've been signed up at Betfinal for some time but never deposited. On friday afternoon I've deposited 40 Euros and went on to set a deposit limit to 50 Euros per week just to realize I had to contact them via Email to do so which was funny but I thought to myself it dont matter, they state their working hours is from 3pm to 9 pm CET, it was 4pm when I sent Email and I continued playing 0.20 Euros bets, by 10pm I got no reply and my compulsive gambling side of myself went on to deposit 2 times 50 more Euros (total 100 euros), I've lost all and I blame them for not replying for 7h and blatantly ignoring my request for deposit limit just so I can waste more money. We're in 2018, they were supposed to have tools in order to avoid this, nowhere on their terms does it state I have to wait for deposit limit to be applied (it's not normal to wait either), they also state numerous times (contact us for instant deposit limit), it was not instant and I would like my 2nd and 3rd deposit returned (total 100 euros), I understand I lost the first deposit and I will not request it back, but I want back the ones that went over the limit cause they didnt apply it for 7h + 22h more. I will now include screenshots of the time I sent Email, and the Email I sent. I will upload them to imgur.com

[EDIT]

[EDIT]

I have covered all private informations but left out the 2nd part of my Email just for verification purposes. I have also givem them more details than needed to apply limits instantly (without asking me for details what they tend to do to stall tactic). I feel cheated and I did everything in my power to protect myself but they ignored me during their active hours. I would also like to state I want my account closed on their site, I dont feel I deserve to be treated that way by an online casino.

Read the casino review

16 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
July 30, 2018

Hi zippizod - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Unfortunately there's not going to be anything we can do to help you in this instance.

In the first instance BetFinal are licensed by Curacao eGaming. This group do not take the same strict approach to the Responsible Gambling policies that their licensees are required to adhere to as other stronger regulatory bodies. BetFinal are not obligated to offer the types of tools you mention.

Secondly, even in the stronger regulatory jurisdictions operators are not required to provide 24/7 Live Chat support and are allowed a time frame - usually 24h - to respond to/action self-exclusion requests.

While I appreciate your frustration I'm sorry to say that you do not have a case here.

What I can do is direct you to our free Responsible Gambling tool BetBlocker. This tool should allow you to restrict yourself from accessing over 5k gambling operators on any device that can access the internet.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
July 30, 2018

Thank you for your reply. So in an essence you're saying they are allowed timeframe when it comes to requesting deposit limits? Which in total makes me feel as if they dont care whatsoever. For me it was 100 euros, what happens to people who deposit even more because the given website allows it for 24+ hours? I'm slightly out of my way here and I'm not even that frustrated, I control myself by requesting limits which is what they are for in the first place. I guess I'll have to avoid any companies licences by Curacao.

User icon
ThePOGG
August 2, 2018

Hi zippizod,

Effectively yes. Gambling operators are not an emergency service and reasonable time frames for reading and actioning emails are considered standard across the industry. If the request is made over Live Chat then the operator would be expected to action it immediately. Where the request is made over email time is allowed to ensure that an operative has actually read the email.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
August 2, 2018

Thank you for your reply once again. I understand you, I've contacted them through live chat for deposit limit to which they replied I have to Email them and that they will instantly set the limit. See where I'm going with this? I feel cheated for one reason only, I was instructed to Email even though I have sent them a message on live-chat and they have replied to it yet didnt take action but rather instructed to Email the details. It's sneaky tactic imho, I have cooled-off a bit but this is first time in 3 years I'm facing such issue hence why I got so frustrated in the first place.

User icon
ThePOGG
August 6, 2018

Hi zippizod,

Can you confirm, you contacted Live Chat, asked for a limit and were then directed to email support?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
August 6, 2018

Hey, thank you for your reply once again. Yes I can confirm that, I even told them that via Email but they simply ignored that line. [EDIT] Cheers!

User icon
ThePOGG
August 8, 2018

Hi zippizod,

I've had a look at the Bet Final site and the relevant section of the site is as follows:

The above explicitly states that to set a Deposit Limit you have to contact them via an email address. There's nothing there that suggests that this will happen instantly nor that it can be actioned via Live Support. Further to this, I've gone back on the internet archives to look at old versions of their Responsible Gambling page and as of October 2017 the information was the same.

I'll contact the operator simply because I do not like operators being informed of an issue like this, having demonstratable received the communication and not actioned it when communicated. But with absolute honesty this is not likely to result in a change of position from the operator.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
August 9, 2018

I appreciate your assistance thus far. Please let me know their reply and once again thank you for your time!

User icon
ThePOGG
September 3, 2018

Hi zippizod,

I've spoken with BetFinal regarding this issue.

Unfortunately there seems to have been a misunderstanding here. My understanding was that you had requested a deposit limit be set via Live Chat, who had told you to email in to action this request. BetFinal have informed me that no request was ever made over Live Chat and that if a request had been made over Live Chat they would have actioned it immediately.

While I appreciate that their Responsible Gambling page directs players to email to request limits, this in itself would not be problematic. Many operators do not run Live Chat services 24/7 and this ensures that these requests can still be received outside of Live Chat working hours.

Without a support agent having directed you to email in rather than actioning the request as/when you made it I'm afraid you don't have a case here.

Can you confirm whether this happened?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
September 4, 2018

Thanks for reaching out once again, I have received the same reply from them a month ago as well denying the fact that I have contacted them but I have zero proofs of it. If you can tell me where to find the history of chat I'm more than willing to provide it. I've already understood they tend to lie since they have lied to me personally through Emails denying that I ever contacted them while in reality I'm the one on the loss here, why would I try to reach out to you personally unless I think I'm right and that they have abused their powers to try and hide the actual problem here.

For clarification, yes I have contacted live chat and they instructed me to send DoB, address, phone number and username/email to betfinal help desk through Email which I did at 4 pm on friday I think (they work up until 9pm), and received zero response on either.

Thank you.

User icon
ThePOGG
September 5, 2018

Hi zippizod,

If you give me the specific dates of the points in contact I'll request records of your chat history.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
September 5, 2018

Hey, I've sent Email at 5:25pm GMT + 2 on July 27th and that was just a few minutes after I've contacted live chat so anywhere from 4:55pm to 5:20pm is when I had chat with the agent whom I had to wait few minutes to even connect then he replied.

Thank you.

User icon
ThePOGG
September 10, 2018

Hi zippizod,

In order to review your case further BetFinal have requested that you provide direct permission to them for them to share information about your account to ensure they are compliant with the GDPR.

As such I've just emailed you a template permission letter. You need to complete the letter, print it, sign it, take a photo and email this to BetFinal support. When you do this you should CC in [email protected] and I'll follow up with the operator once we've received this.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
zippizod
September 12, 2018

Am I safe when doing this? Only you and the Operator will be able to see my details. Correct?

Frankly I dont even know your name but you seem more professional than 99% of people on the internet and I have no issues providing you with any documents but I'm worried if only the two of you will get to see it or if there's someone else involved as well. Please reassure me I'm providing my permission only to you two. Thank you for your patience on this matter thus far!

User icon
ThePOGG
September 12, 2018

Hi zippizod,

I do understand your concerns and you're wise to ask. To address them:

i) when you submitted this complaint you will have given permission for us to discuss/share your details with the following entities:

BetFinal

Their Curacao regulator

This isn't asking for anything more than you've already provided, it's simply given the operator written assurance that you actually have agreed to this.

ii) We are an Alternative Dispute Resolution service that has been recognised by multiple regulatory agencies. We previously fulfilled this role for the UKGC but stepped down a couple of years ago. We currently fulfil this role for the Jersey Gambling Commission and we're in discussion with other regulators about assisting them with complaint management. In short, our entire business is centred on our reputation and we couldn't afford to take any risks on this.

iii) If it makes you more comfortable feel free to edit the text of the letter to specifically state that it's your communication records with the operator that you're looking to share. We do not need to see ID anything of that nature as the point of contention is whether or not a request for a deposit limit was made over Live Chat.

iv) Feel free to review our Privacy Policy for more information on this interaction. We cannot and would not share any information about you with anyone other than the operator, their regulator or a relevant legal authority where we were forced to do so.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

P.S. My name is Duncan Garvie - I'm the Manager here at ThePOGG.com and the only one with access to your personal information. Complaints are signed as 'ThePOGG' as a branding exercise rather than to try and hide anything. You can see my name on our company documentation registered with the UK government here - https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/SC507011/persons-with-significant-control.

User icon
ThePOGG
September 28, 2018

Hi zippizod,

Is it fair to say you no longer want us to proceed?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

zippizod consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

July 30, 2018

United States country flag