unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Betregal – Duty of care

Ruling

Found for the Casino - Having reviewed this player's interactions with the operator we can find no point where the player clearly informed BetRegal of any addiction issues.

Read our BetRegal Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

I would like to report Betregal. I have tried to resolve the issue over the past 2 months but they feel they have done nothing wrong.

The facts are they failed to close my account on several occasions by offering me free bets in one instance 5 times in the one day. There had no regard for the amount of money had lost & just continued to offer free bets. Until I lost everything & more to put myself into debt.

I have transcripts of chat with Betregal support offering free bets not to close the account

Read the casino review

18 Responses

ThePOGG
Jul 11, 2019

Hi miltree18 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Before we go any further are you resident in Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

milltree18
Jul 11, 2019

Hi I’m from the Republic of Ireland

ThePOGG
Jul 12, 2019

Hi milltree18,

As we are the ADR for the Apsire Global license under the Malta Gaming Authority license there is certain information we have to provide you now.

You can find all the relevant information about this service here – http://thepogg.com/terms-of-use/ and the terms of use for our complaint service here - https://thepogg.com/terms-of-use-for-dispute-resolution-service/

To summarise.

– Use of this service does not preclude your seeking redress through court proceedings .

– This service is free to use for both the complainant and operator.

– At any point during the procedure the submitting party retains the right to withdraw their complaint. This does not preclude our right to continue the discussion with the involved operator of general issues related to the complaint (i.e. insufficiently clear terms and conditions).

– You are not obliged to obtain independent or legal advice or representation, though you may choose to do so.

If you have any questions about the above, let me know.

Before we go any further, you reference having asked to close your account - did you at any point clearly inform the operator that you were requesting a closure of your account due to gambling problems? If so can you provide a record?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

milltree18
Jul 12, 2019

Ok I understand. I told the operator I wanted to close the account multiple times 4 times in the one day & they kept asking me did I want a free bet to keep it open they gave me 6 Free bets to keep the account open! After me spending the €8000 I was up. I was after losing so much I wanted to just stop after that but as a gambler I was not going to refuse a free bet which lead my to deposit a further 2500 a few hours later. I have transcripts of the chat & transactions but I believe some of the chat has been removed as I told them I had lost to much money. Also the transactions don’t match because the last betting transactions date is 26/04/19 when the last Deposit was on 10/05/19 on the transactions report they sent me.

milltree18
Jul 15, 2019

Will I sent the chats & transactions on to you? If so what is the email address please?

ThePOGG
Jul 16, 2019

Hi milltree18,

Under MGA regulations a basic request to close the account, without any direct indication that the account is being closed due to problem gambling issues would not be required to managed under responsible gambling policies. The operator would be within their rights to offer you incentives to keep the account open if you have not given an indication of problems.

Can you please forward the Live Chat records on to [email protected]?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

milltree18
Jul 16, 2019

Attached is the transcripts of chat! Missing is when I told them I have lost to much money also on the transactions list you can see they are not all there either as my last deposit was on the 10/05/19 but the list finishes on the 26/04/19?

I think when someone tries to close there account 4 times in the one day in the space of a few hours the operator has a duty as they can see how much the player is losing if there is a chance of Winning money back on free bets nobody would refuse that chance especially a gambler with a problem that has lost thousands!! Also I was told I couldn’t close the account as I was a VIP
I have emailed the documents have you received them??

milltree18
Jul 17, 2019

See below on the Betregal website they didn’t follow through with this with me.
[EDIT]

ThePOGG
Jul 19, 2019

Hi milltree18,

I've reviewed your chat transcripts. Unfortunately despite a few requests to close your account you do not specifically tell the operator that you have a gambling issue. When you say you can't win a bet, have no luck and even that you're going to try your luck elsewhere.

Based on MGA requirements you need to have told the operator clearly that you are closing your account due to gambling problems before your account would be managed under Responsible Gambling policies and from what you've provided I cannot see that you have done this. Even saying that you've 'lost too much' can be interpreted in multiple way and given that you've directly indicated your intention to gamble elsewhere the operator's actions have not been out of line with approved practices.

So I need to ask again - did you clearly tell the operator that you were closing your account due to gambling issues?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

milltree18
Jul 19, 2019

I told them I wanted to close the account as I was losing to much money & they told me I couldn’t as I was a VIP! If someone is losing to much money does that not say there’s a problem??? They just kept passing me around to keep the account open cause I lost over 8000 in a few days. Why have they edited both transcripts?? On there website they say there operators are trained to pick up on these things so why were the following not picked up on losing 8000 in a few days asking for account to be closed 5 times in one day! Depositing a further 2500 & losing then trying to close the account again! Maybe if I’d have won then the account would be watched more? They knew what they were doing 100%

milltree18
Jul 28, 2019

Any update?

milltree18
Aug 02, 2019

Hi is there Any Update ?

milltree18
Aug 13, 2019

Any update on this Please

ThePOGG
Aug 16, 2019

Hi milltree18,

As stated at the bottom of every complaint thread, we only offer updates when we have new information to communicate. We will revert to you at the appropriate juncture.

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
Sep 03, 2019

Hi milltree18,

I've now reviewed the full chat transcript records provided by BetRegal. As with the records you provided I can see no point during these conversations where you directly informed the operator of having a gambling problem. Each time you request an account closure the operator follows the correct protocol and ask for a reason for the account closure. Each time this happens you indicate that it is because you have not been lucky, haven't won or want to try your luck elsewhere. Given the lace of indication of a problem the operator offers you a promotional incentive to consider keeping the account open, which you agree to.

By MGA regulations there is nothing problematic in what's happened.

However, my understanding is that upon review that BetRegal have decided to consider your request on the 10th of May a self-exclusion rather than a standard closure request and have refunded all deposits made after this point.

Can you confirm receipt of your funds?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
Sep 10, 2019

Hi milltree18,

I'm following-up on the above?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

milltree18
Sep 10, 2019

Hi, I have received around €2450 of the €7500 I deposited & I received an email from Betregal for this return to which I have replied to stating I want a full refund or I Will be going further. I also informed them that there manner & customer service has been appalling in dealing with this matter. Thank you

ThePOGG
Sep 13, 2019

Hi milltree18,

As stated above, we can see no sound grounds for any refund under the MGA regulations that BetRegal are required to meet based on your interactions with the operator. While we certainly were not about to argue against the operator's decision to enforce a partial refund, it is not something we would have required them to do.

There is nothing further we can do for you.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

milltree18 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Bet Regal
  • Curacao eGaming
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • Aspire Global International Ltd

July 11, 2019

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.