ThePogg logo unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Bitstarz – 2200 euros confiscated

Ruling

Found for the Player - Bitstarz have been less than cooperative with this case and have failed to provide supporting evidence to validate their claim.

Read our Bitstarz Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hello! 2200 euros were unreasonably confiscated from me by Bitstars casino. On 6 September 2018 I created account at bitstarz.com casino and I’d like to note that in Russia all main casino sites are under roskomnadzor block (thepogg too) and cant be accessed directly. When I registered at bitstarz.com I used chrome vpn extension "betternet" however after I registered I discovered that bitstarz.com has “mirror” site bitstarz10.com All my further communications were with bitstarz10.com - site made by bitstarz.com to bypass roskomnadzor restriction for russian players.

The first play 20 free spins lost them and made a first 100 euro deposit using my card into 0 balance and received 100 euro welcome bonus on first deposit.

I followed bitstarz casino main T

Read the casino review

7 Responses

ThePOGG
Jan 21, 2019

Hi marisya - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Before we can go any further I need you to provide the rest of your complaint submission.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

marisya
Jan 21, 2019

I followed bitstarz casino main T&C and bonus T&C about games, stakes etc. and managed to win 2500 euro on slots, my bet was never more than 5 euro.
After I finished wagering for welcome bonus (also playing slots), I had 2200 euro on my balance which I have requested for withdrawal back to my card that I made deposit from. On 7 september my withdrawal request was reverted back to my balance. Then i sent all requested documents, also photos showing me beside my house.
On 19 september 2018 I was informed my account was locked and I was asked to answer phone call from casino in the near 48 hours, and on 21.09.18 I received that
phone call. We talked for 12 minutes, I answered all questions about myself and also on some weird questions
like “what did you type to log into casino”. On my registration I received some non-relevant free spins which
I lost completely to 0 balance, but operator asked me “did you received no deposit bonus” and I said that I
have not (because even on site it was promoted as free SPINS and not “no deposit BONUS”). During phone call operator said that casino is going to confiscate my balance because they don’t like something with me and they dont like my slow speech and "uncertainty". I told them i cant speak russian fluently because it is my second language (i'm armenian) also I asked could they speak with me by videochat if they don’t like something and want to verify my identity better (if what
they asked was not enough!) but operator refused to do so.
I think they use this “phone call check” as some weak basis, some reference to try to justify money confiscation.
"Explain how do you walk? - I can not tell you but i can show you - Why do we need to see how you walking if you can not explain how you do it?! You so uncertain about how you walk" - thats basically the whole point of that phone call.
Later I sent e-mail regarding this and support told me they decided to close my account and will not pay my balance. No reference to T&C was given.
Futher i wrote a complaint at askgamblers but after few days i found out that my account at askgamblers is closed and the complaint was deleted from the site completely. I suppose that askgamblers tries to hide any cases with bitstars casino and cover them, because bitstarz is highly promoted as "best casino choice" etc and probably is the most profitable casino for that dispute mediator-affiliate (also i think i registered from askgamblers site link because i looked there about "best rated casinos" so they had double profit there in denying my complaint, but i'm not sure).

But the thing is - 2200 eur confiscated "because person seemed for us to be uncertain". I have not violated any clauses of T&C and want my balance to be restored and paid.

marisya
May 28, 2019

Any updates on my case?

ThePOGG
Jun 14, 2019

Hi marisya,

I've spoken to the operator about this issue at some length. They inform me that the decision not to pay you has been based on a failed verification call. We have asked Bitstarz to provide a copy of the verification call to authenticate the issues but they have been unable to do so, only providing us with a transcript of the conversation.

Given the insecure nature of a text document of this nature we are unable to validate the operator's actions on this basis. I do however have to be clear that if the chat transcript was to prove an accurate account of the conversation that took place we would unquestionable support the operator's decision not to pay.

As things stand we have to parties making opposing claims and no valid ground to favour either one.

Sorry there is nothing further we can do to help you.

ThePOGG

marisya
Jul 03, 2019

Here is my answer on askgamblers complaint conversation. Also they posted link there with call audiofile, i downloaded it and i do have it. Yes i wrote in my complaint that i registered at bitstarz.com because this site is highly rated on askgamblers (best casino of the year 2017 actually), and also i wrote that i want askgamblers to help me with the issue i have, becaucse casino confiscated my money with the only explanation (that i only found from their reply to my complaint that you deleted) that " as her answers to the questions were far from convincing. After informing the player about this, she claims that the reason why she was hesitant was due to her Russian being bad and this being the first casino she ever played at. With that being said, we question that argument as the player in question immediately sent us an email in flawless Russian (attached) just after confiscation, and as her English seems to be on an excellent level (as per this complaint), we're also slightly puzzled to the fact that she didn't use the English site or support and makes us even more convinced about the authenticity of the player's intentions." Basically they accuse me for not living alone in my appartment but living with my family (daughter, son, husband, grandchildren). How ridiculous is that! Ofcourse my daughter can help me to write a complaint in english or russian and ofcourse i asked her for this help, because russian is her first language, and she is much better with all this than me. It is not prohibited in T&C that daughter can help mother to write a complaint (just like a lawyer would do), also only i have account at bitstarz across my family, my household etc, there is no breaking rules here! But when i received the call what exactly was far from convincing? He asked dozen of time how to play slot, i answered multiply times that only thing you can change is lines, thats exactly it. You only need to look at stake and press spin, nothing can be changed exept lines. Also all the casino interface is intuitive - there is nothing to say anything about "what you need to make a deposit?" - find a deposit button somewhere, thats it. And i asked him to start videochat, because i couldnt explain in russian what he wanted but could show him what to do (log in, play. etc. if that was what they wanted from me) He rejected, said "why would we need video if you cant tell it in russian". Thats the whole story. Their only explanation for the confiscation is for me being who i am - my russian is bad, i speak with accent, if thats sounds fun for them - they can call me and ask me anything in armenian language!

ThePOGG
Aug 23, 2019

Hi marisya,

I've reverted to Bitstarz with this issue specifically to confirm whether or not the they can verify that you would have a copy of the verification call given that they've been unable to provide this themselves.

Sadly we've received no response from the operator from any of these contacts. As the operator are non-responsive to this issue the complaint will now be ruled in your favour.

Sorry we could not be of more help.

ThePOGG

marisya
Oct 14, 2019

I see case found for me but no actions from casino happened no balance was restored or paid. So casino licensed in Curasao so thats the place where i should submit new complaint? Anything i can do about this?

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

marisya consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Bitstarz
  • Curacao eGaming
  • Direx N.V.

January 18, 2019

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.