ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Bovada - I already verified with face and government photo ID. Now they want more beyond their terms including a photo in front of my house.

Ruling

Resolved - The submitting complainant has become non-responsive to our repeated requests for additional information. As such we assume they have resolved their issue on their own.

Read our Bovada Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

I have already completed the verification process for Bovada which included using the camera on my device for a scan of the back and front of my driver’s license and a scan of my face. I received an email confirmation which I still have confirming that the information is now verified. I have now won a 6 figure progressive jackpot and they are asking for photos that are not mentioned at all in their terms of service, even in an open ended way. I feel like I have to draw a line in the sand here because, if I send them this, what if they come back and say now that’s not enough? Where does it end? Perhaps they want a family photo next or photos of birth marks or tattoos or a photo of my car showing the license plate. If they want something in front of my house this time, what’s to stop them from asking me to take the next photo at work? My account has already been verified and I have it in writing from them. They want both of the following photos now (and they didn’t even provide a reason why):

- An image of your ID (such as a driver’s license or passport) held up next to your face outside your home showing the house number.

- An image of you holding the day's newspaper with a written and signed note showing the date.

I have read the terms of service. I will paste the entire section below but here is what’s most important: “We reserve the right to use third party verification services to authenticate your account information and identity, and you expressly acknowledge and agree that we may confirm the accuracy of any information you submit against government-issued ID.” I have done this. There is nothing about them asking for additional photos in front of my house or anything that they can just ask whatever they want.

Here is additional context: I have had an account with Bovada for about 3 years. In that time I have played many progressive jackpots games and never won a jackpot and also played at other online casinos’ progressive jackpots and never won. I have played A LOT. Back in July of this year, I won the Super Hot Drop Jackpot (playing I think $20 per spin). I was ecstatic. I posted on their forum as requested to share my experience and how thrilled I was. They paid it all out. I decided to use the winnings to keep trying since this new Hot Drop Jackpot was the only progressive I was ever able to win. Then, BINGO! I hit it again about 6 weeks ago. Keep in mind, after the first win, I have been playing $100 per spin multiple sessions when the jackpot gets big. This time, they asked me to verify and I did with no questions or complaints using their verification system. Then, they paid it all out. Since that time 6 weeks ago, I have tried multiple more times always spinning $100 per spin. Then, believe it or not, I hit it a third time 2 days ago. I realize it is insanely crazy for someone to hit 3 progressive jackpots in less than 6 months time, but I was depositing thousands of dollars at a time, spinning $100 per spin and not claiming any bonuses. Just because I’ve been extremely lucky doesn’t give them the right to ask for invasive verification that is not part of their terms and conditions. But that’s what they did on this third win.

They have already paid out $47,500 of that win. The next withdrawal I submitted was for $95.000 and that’s when I got the email asking for “enhanced verification”. There’s a $95,000 pending withdrawal and a $102,974.36 balance left.

First of all, using their verification system as requested, I couldn’t have faked my driver’s license and face as it captured it in real time. Second, why would faking my identity help in this situation? I didn’t claim any bonus for any of these 3 wins, so I used my funds directly without any promotions. Third, these jackpots were paid into by all the players who played and it is not even like I’ve caused them any loss of their own money.

I am sorry, but it really feels like they are fishing for a reason to keep most of this jackpot money to themselves (that’s what it feels like, I’m not saying it’s true). I would like to continue playing at Bovada and, overall, they’ve been great and I love their website and service. However, if they don’t want me to play there anymore because I’ve been too lucky, that’s their right, but it’s not their right to try to ask for absurd “enhanced verification” or deny me any withdrawal of money I’ve already won.

I feel vulnerable and scared with this much money at stake to reach out to them directly and say I don’t want to provide these photos because I have to draw the line somewhere. I feel like they could just say that that confirms that I’m a fraud or something and they could just lock the account and keep the money so I prefer to handle this with your third party service. Thank you very much for your help.

Here are there terms (3.6). The terms were not even this strict at the time I signed up I think. Note it doesn’t say anything about having to verify again after already being confirmed verified or provide additional photos other than government issued photo ID or photos in front of your house, or with hand signed notes, or with a newspaper (which no one even buys newspapers anymore), etc:

3.6 Information to be Valid and Verifiable. All information and data that you provide to us either at the time you register for an Account or at any subsequent time must be truthful, accurate and verifiable in all respects. By providing such information and data you consent to us submitting it to third party providers of age and identification services to verify that you are who you say you are and that the information you give is true and accurate. We reserve the right to use third party verification services to authenticate your account information and identity, and you expressly acknowledge and agree that we may confirm the accuracy of any information you submit against government-issued ID. If you have provided false information or if you are unable or unwilling to provide documentation to confirm your information, as we are unable to confirm your identify, your Account may be terminated and any and all activity within the Account deemed invalid, including, without limitation, the nullification of potential winnings. By registering an Account you grant us the right to disclose your identity and any information that you have provided in connection with your account to anyone who makes any claim or allegation that: (a) you are a minor or under the minimum age required to make use of any part of the Website; or (b) any Posting or other material posted or uploaded by you to the Website constitutes a violation of their intellectual property rights, or of their right to privacy or was otherwise posted

Read the casino review

14 Responses

User icon
thepogg
November 2, 2022

Hi shizzle - welcome to ThePOGG.com.

Firstly - there is no such thing as a "fully verified" account. Verification requirements change over time and the operator will be required to conduct different checks at different stages.

The request being made is not overly onerous and could be provided in a matter of minutes where you choose to do so. It also helps evidence that you are the person operating the account and not someone who has stolen/rented your identity. It is your choice whether to comply with this request or not, but where you choose not to there is nothing this service can do to help you.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
shizzle
November 2, 2022

Thank you for taking my complaint.

My point is that I feel this is increasing to the level of harassment and invasion of privacy.

I want to share here the 3 emails starting with the first verification request, the verification confirmation, and then the "enhanced verification" request.

September 14th:

Hello {my name},

Your identity must be confirmed in order to fulfill our account verification requirements.

Have your Government ID and your computer/mobile camera ready to complete this process. We kindly ask you to log into your Bovada account and verify your identity. Click HERE to learn how.

Regards,

Bovada Verification

September 15th:

Hello {my name},

Thank you for submitting your documentation; the requested information is now verified.

Regards,

Bovada Verification

October 31st:

Hello {my name},

In order for us to complete the enhanced verification process, there are additional documents we require to be submitted.

Please resend the following documents:

- An image of your ID (such as a driver’s license or passport) held up next to your face outside your home showing the house number.

- An image of you holding the day's newspaper with a written and signed note showing the date.

At your earliest convenience, please take clear photos of the requested documents, or scan them, then email the files in JPEG or PDF format to [email protected]

Should you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us.

Regards,

Bovada Verification

User icon
shizzle
November 2, 2022

I didn't read your reply before I posted the above comment.

I pasted the terms and conditions in my complaint and I am wondering if you really don't believe they are going beyond their terms?

Also, it can't be provided in a matter of minutes. They want clarity. How do you have a face, an ID, and a house number all clear in a single photo. I can focus on one.

I also don't get a daily newspaper.

My question is, when does it stop? Can they ask for whatever they want whenever they want? I have to be under the understanding that, if I ever win any money, the casino can just ask for random photos even if I've already verified my identity via a driver's license as agreed in their terms?

Thank you for your consideration.

User icon
shizzle
November 2, 2022

Yes, I realize I can go out and buy a daily newspaper and it's not a huge deal, but still, it's not a matter of minutes. Where does it end? How do I know if I send these photos they won't just reply and say that's not enough?

User icon
thepogg
November 2, 2022

Hi shizzle,

A daily newspaper is a trivial outlay and in some instances can be obtained free of charge. As to the photo, have someone else (friend, family member, work colleague, neighbour) take the photo. These barriers are far from insurmountable.

As stated above, it is your choice whether you wish to comply or not. But if you choose not to this service will not intercede on your behalf. This request is not unreasonable.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
shizzle
November 2, 2022

Also, about "fully verified":

If the first email says, "Your identity must be confirmed in order to fulfill our account verification requirements."

And the next email says: "the requested information is now verified."

Does that not mean my identity has been confirmed and verified? If my identity has been verified, what are they now verifying? Either I'm verified or I'm not. I don't understand how you can be "more verified". I think "verified" is an absolute word, no?

User icon
thepogg
November 4, 2022

Hi shizzle,

While we understand your frustrations, verifications processes are frustrating for everyone, as stated above the request is not unreasonable. If you want our assistance you first need to comply with this request.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
shizzle
November 7, 2022

I have now submitted the photos exactly as requested. It's been over 30 hours with no response. If I don't get a response by 48 hours which is tomorrow 8am EST, I will let you know.

Something is just off about this whole thing. I've googled around to try to find others who were asked for "enhanced verification" and I couldn't find anyone. And it's not just no reply, I didn't even get an automated acknowledgement email. I sent a follow up at 9am EST this morning to [email protected] but also included [email protected] and still no response.

In the meantime, I am checking my email 20 times per hour, completely stressed out because I feel like my big jackpot win is being held hostage. Just clinging to the fact that Bovada is supposedly a reputable casino because, in my mind, I just feel like they're trying to screw me for winning too much money.

I worked a ton last week and travelled on Saturday and did the photos first thing Sunday morning. I went to 3 stores before I found "the day's newspaper". It's 2022

User icon
shizzle
November 8, 2022

I just got the email that my withdrawal has been declined! I need help!

I will gladly send you the photos that I submitted so you can see that they are EXACTLY what was asked for.

PLEASE HELP!

User icon
shizzle
November 8, 2022

Just got another email:

"Hello, Your account has been temporarily disabled and is currently under review. You will be contacted via email with further details once the investigation into your account has concluded. Regards, Bovada Security"

User icon
shizzle
November 8, 2022

This is from Ticket: U2-12358998

"Rest assured that once the requested documentation is provided your payouts will be honoured"

Please ask them to keep their word

User icon
thepogg
November 12, 2022

Hi shizzle,

Have you received any response from Bovada?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
thepogg
November 19, 2022

Hi shizzle,

I'm following-up on the above?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
thepogg
November 26, 2022

Hi shizzle,

If we haven't heard from you by Friday the 9th of December we will assume you no longer need our assistance and close this complaint.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

shizzle consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Bovada
  • Kahnawake Gaming Commission

November 1, 2022

United States country flag