unclaimed offers
Turn geo location off

Choose a country to view the site from

Currently viewing from:

United Kingdom


ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

BoVegas – Failure to honor self exclusion

Ruling

Found for the Player - This player informed the operator of an addiction issue by using the term "self exclude" but no action was taken by Bovegas.

Read our BoVegas Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

In March, I requested to be self excluded from BoVegas in writing. They acknowledged my request in writing but did not honor it. Since then, I have deposited and lost $6300. I feel that they took advantage of my addiction, of which they had knowledge.

Read the casino review

14 Responses

ThePOGG
May 31, 2019

Hi hhr94scots - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Unfortunately you've chosen to play with an operator who whole negative status with this service and are entirely unlicensed. While we will try to contact the operator on your behalf the chances of a successful mediation are low.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

HHS94Scots
Jun 03, 2019

Thank you. Any efforts in my behalf would be greatly appreciated.

Wish I would have found your blog before I started playing there.

ThePOGG
Jun 04, 2019

Hi HHS94Scots,

What specifically did you say to the casino when requesting your "self exclusion"?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

HHS94Scots
Jun 04, 2019

I said I want to self exclude.

As an addict, I was still in the mindset that I could win back the funds that I had lost. I couldn’t believe what I had just done again, so I did ask for additional funds.

However, once I was offered an additional chip, I did not accept it, thinking that they would honor my request to self exclude. A month later, they offered me the chip again, and I indicated “close” intending to honor my request to self exclude.

In truth, I am new to all this. I am not a pro gambler. Term 6.5 of their terms and conditions covering self exclusion state that all one has to do is request it from customer service. No form had to be filled out or anything like that. I thought I had complied, yet they still pursued me as a player? Even after I asked to disable my account the 2nd time.

ThePOGG
Jun 07, 2019

Hi HHS94Scots,

You have not answered my question - what specifically did you say when asking to "self exclude"?

Simply asking to close your account is not a self exclusion and does not qualify as a Responsible Gambling issue.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

HHS94Scots
Jun 07, 2019

I said “I want to self exclude.” These are my exact words.

HHS94Scots
Jun 07, 2019

“I want to self exclude from your site” is the direct quote

ThePOGG
Jun 11, 2019

Hi HHS94Scots,

Can you forward a copy of this request to [email protected]?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

HHS94Scots
Jun 11, 2019

Sure thing

HHS94Scots
Jun 17, 2019

Did you get the email I sent as requested?

ThePOGG
Jun 27, 2019

Hi HHS94Scot,

I've concluded my discussion with BoVegas. The operator is of the opinion that the self exclusion request while actively attempting to elicit further bonuses (i.e. "give me a bonus or I'll self exclude") it cannot legitimately be considered acknowledgement of gambling addiction issues. In literal terms the operator have a point - your actions very clearly were not intended as a request for support due to control issues but an attempt to pressure the operator to offer you further promotional incentives to continue playing via threatening to withhold your custom entirely.

However the key differential here is the use of the term "self exclude". While historically the industry has viewed this term to refer to any account closure request, recent regulatory changes have solidified the definition of a "self exclusion" as an account closure due to gambling addiction issues. This is evidenced by https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-exclusion. At the point where you used this term your account should have been immediately closed an subjected to relevant Responsible Gambling policies before any re-opening was considered.

The operator has refused to accept or acknowledge this point and as such we are at an impasse.

Sorry we could not be of more help.

ThePOGG

HHS94Scots
Jun 27, 2019

Thank you for your efforts. I will continue to make this point to them.

Thank you for BetBlocker by the way!

HHS94Scots
Jun 28, 2019

One problem I’m running into is that multiple people
Use the same email address. Is there a single contact there that you work with?

ThePOGG
Jul 02, 2019

Hi HHS94Scots,

While I appreciate the reason for your request, if we were seen to hand out private company personnel contact information we would quickly find that operators stopped talking to us.

Sorry,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

hhs94scots consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • BoVegas

May 31, 2019