ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Casimba - Funds belonging to my late father

Ruling

Found for the Casino - There are mismatches between the documentation this individual submitted and the registered account information that were unable to be resolved.

Read our Casimba Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

In short. This complaint concerns funds that are still available in my deceased father’s online account on Casimba.com (“C”). As the sole heir and beneficiary to my fathers estate, I have approached C several times and also sent them all the legal documents concerning my fathers death, but they have refused to release the funds to me or back to my father’s original bank accounts/VISA card.

*****

My father, [EDIT], died on the 16th of February 2019 while on vacation in Mallorca, Spain. I am the sole heir and beneficiary to my father’s estate. One of the things I did to manage his estate was to use his personal laptop, which he had left at home in Sweden, to log in to his personal email account on Google ([EDIT]). I did this so that I could be able to respond to any incoming emails from his friends and family and handle any bills sent to my father by email that had to be settled with assets from the estate. To this day, I am regularly checking his email in order to handle any “loose ends” that might surface there.

I have since tried many times to work with C on this issue but to no avail. What’s more is that C has apparently stopped all it’s services in Sweden on the 29th of June. I have contacted C about this as well and they have notified me that they will still not, regardless of these circumstances, send back the funds in my father’s account and that they will keep them.

My father’s account was locked by C shortly after I initially contacted their customer service. At the time being, my father’s account seems to have been completely deleted from C, since I only get an “invalid username or password” message from the website when I try to log in to the account. I am therefore unable to give an exact number about the funds currently in the account. By reviewing my correspondence with C’s customer service, I can however with 100% certainty say that the funds are just over 32 000 Swedish Kronas (SEK).

I sincerely hope that you can help with this. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you need any further information or documents.

Read the casino review

12 Responses

User icon
thepogg
July 20, 2021

Hi hoodog - welcome to ThePOGG.com.

Please ensure you have read our Complaint Guidance to ensure that fully understand how our complaint management process functions.

As we are the ADR for the White Hat Gaming license under the Malta Gaming Authority license there is certain information we have to provide you now.

You can find all the relevant information about this service here – http://thepogg.com/terms-of-use/ and the terms of use for our complaint service here - https://thepogg.com/terms-of-use-for-dispute-resolution-service/

To summarise.

– Use of this service does not preclude your seeking redress through court proceedings .

– This service is free to use for both the complainant and operator.

– At any point during the procedure the submitting party retains the right to withdraw their complaint. This does not preclude our right to continue the discussion with the involved operator of general issues related to the complaint (i.e. insufficiently clear terms and conditions).

https://thepogg.com/terms-of-use-for-dispute-resolution-service/

– You are not obliged to obtain independent or legal advice or representation, though you may choose to do so.

If you have any questions about the above, let me know.

Specifically what reason has the operator given for refusing to comply with your request?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
hoodog
July 20, 2021

Hi,

Thank you so much for looking into this. I really appreciate your help.

The reason C has given me is that they "were unable to match the registered account details to that of the documentation that was provided". Nothing else.

I have noticed that a rather large part of my complaint is missing under the "Player's Complaint" headline above. Do you want me to submit the full complaint again?

Thanks again for all your help in this matter.

Best regards,

[EDIT]

User icon
hoodog
July 20, 2021

The following paragraph is missing from my complaint posted above. It should be inserted between the second and third paragraph.

"An email from C was sent to my father’s email account on the 14th of March 2021. The first line of this email said Hejsan [EDIT] (Hi [EDIT] in Swedish) and then went on to remind my father that, apparently, he had funds on C that hadn’t been used for over 30 days. I was unaware of the fact that my father had an account on C and the existence of these funds until I read this email. In order to check exactly what was going on, I logged in to my father’s Casimba account and could then see that there was indeed just over 32 000 SEK in funds in the account. I also noticed that my father had named his account tossene46 as a reference to where resided in Sweden at the time of his death ([EDIT]) and his year of birth ([EDIT]). I then proceeded to immediately contact C’s customer service through their website to notify them about my father’s death. At the same time I informed them about my role in my father’s estate and that I wanted the funds to be transferred back since they belonged to the estate. C’s customer service requested that I support my claim with necessary documentation about my father, myself and his death, which I did on the 6th of April. On the 24th of May I finally received an email telling me that C would not release the funds and that they would remain in C’s possession."

User icon
hoodog
September 6, 2021

Hi again,

I haven't heard anything about this for a while and I know that these kind of cases can take some time before any updates are available. However, I just want to say again that I am happy to give you any supporting documents to this claim if you need it.

Many thanks again for your help.

Best,

[EDIT]

User icon
thepogg
October 3, 2021

Hi hoodog,

Your case necessitates the involvement of the regulator, which we are in the process of doing.

You should expect this to be a slow process from this point. We will alert you when there are relevant developments.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
hoodog
October 18, 2021

Thanks for the heads up! Again, do let me know if you need any more information or supporting documents from my end.

Best regards,

[EDIT]

User icon
thepogg
January 20, 2022

Hi hoodog,

We have concluded a lengthy dialogue with the operator and the regulator about this matter.

The prinicpal issue is that there are multiple data points within the documentation you provided that do not correlate with the information that was provided at the point of account registration by the account holder.

This creates one point of risk or a terms violation that constrains how this issue has been managed.

If we assume that the documentation is correct, then the account holder provided substantially incorrect information at point of registration. This is a violation of the terms of service that would invalidate any play on the account.

The alternative is that the documentation is non-legitimate in nature, raising the risk of identity theft.

The best case scenario in this instance is that the documentation is legitimate, but due to the violation of terms this means that only deposits are due to be returned.

To address the risk aspects of this issue, the deposits will be refunded to the depositing account. Once transferred to the bank, the responsibility for establishing the legitimacy of the inheritance claim will fall to the bank, who will already have conducted higher levels of verification before opening an account.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
hoodog
January 25, 2022

Hi again,

Thanks for the update. I agree with you, returning the funds to the original bank account is the best way forward. It is actually a solution that I proposed to Casimba myself, before contacting ThePogg. However, Casimba declined to go ahead with this option.

Could you please let me know when the funds have been refunded so that I can reach out to the bank on my end?

Thanks again for all your help in this matter. I truly appreciate it.

User icon
thepogg
February 2, 2022

Hi hoodog,

It is our understanding that the deposits made to this account have now been refunded to the bank account they were transferred from.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
hoodog
February 7, 2022

Hi again,

I just got off the phone with the bank in question (Swedbank). Apparently, since all my father's accounts have been closed because of his death, the transfer from the casino will not go through. Instead, the money will just bounce back to the casino.

So, in sum, I am still out of luck and the casino will again end up with the funds.

What should I do know?

Best,

[EDIT]

User icon
thepogg
February 9, 2022

Hi hoodog,

Sadly, if the bank will no longer manage this transaction your only choice would be to seek legal advise with a mind to seeking a court order for payment. As it is not possible to verify the legitimacy of the claims you have made due to the mismatch been the account information and the information on the document that you have provided, there is no possibility of issuing any payment from an account in this person's name to you.

Sorry we could not be of further help.

ThePOGG

User icon
hoodog
February 16, 2022

Hi again,

I see. This is a really sad outcome. Thanks anyway for all your help.

Best,

[EDIT]

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

hoodog consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Casimba
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • Curacao
  • Imperium Network Solutions Limited

July 19, 2021

United States country flag