ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Grande Vegas - Refund request ignored

Ruling

Found for the Casino - Grande Vegas Casino are not UKGC licensed and as such would not be aware of any self exclusions initiated under this license.

Read our Grande Vegas Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Dear Sir / Madam,

My name is [EDIT]. I used to have an account with GrandeVegasCasino.com. The account was opened in December 2014 but I used it very rarely until the beginning of September 2018, being one of the those where I was given access to after I registered with Gamstop in August 2018.

At the time of my self-exclusion I was told that Gamstop comprises the majority of gambling sites licensed in the UK and that by the end of 2018 all of them will be part of the network.

The process of giving up gambling is difficult, it takes time and will. I admit that after the promotional emails received almost daily from GrandeVegasCasino. com I was tempted to start playing at this casino.

In December 2018 I contacted the casino customer service after I found out that UK players are actually restricted to play, the casino doesn't hold a licence issued by the gambling commission and asked if it is legal to deposit and play at GrandeVegasCasino. com.

The answer I received was at least ambiguous:

Dear [EDIT],

Thank you for making Grande Vegas your gaming choice!

I have reviewed your account and I can see that you have been registered with us since 2014. At that point there were no restrictions for players coming from the UK.

The issue you mentioned refers only to new registrations, it does not affect older accounts.

You can continue making deposits and withdraw potential winnings. We kindly advise you not to disclose the nature of the transactions to any financial institution as some of them might be against online gaming.

Should you require any further information or assistance, please feel free to contact us anytime.

We invite you to come and chat with us to find out our hottest games!

Enjoy playing in the Casino!

Best regards,

[EDIT]

GrandeVegas Casino Support.

I contacted the customer service again because the fact that this casino is not regulated in the UK makes the addicted players highly vulnerable . The lack of any online account tools to set the limits of deposits, self exclusion or permanent closure of the account and the fact that after 3 months and dozens of deposits made using at least 4 different payment modalities I was not required to provide any proof of identity and address made me to request the account closure and a refund of 50% of the total amount deposited as I am partly responsible for the created situation.

The customer service responded relatively quickly on January 23rd. I quote:

Dear [EDIT] ,

hope you are doing well.

I received your message about your account query for closure and refund.

We have honor your request and closed your account but unfortunately partial refund is not possible.

I ask that you contact us via phone as soon as possible to have a chat.

Best regards,

[EDIT]

GrandeVegas Casino VIP Support

On the 24th I contacted the customer service again, requesting this time a full refund of the deposits.

On 25th, a total of 6 deposit transactions were returned, totaling £ 460.

On 26th , I received an email from the casino security department where I was informed that it was decided to close my account for security reasons. Without any further explanation or response to my deposits refund request.

I contacted this department and asked how an account already closed on my request two days before can be locked for security reasons. Unfortunately the casino customer has stopped any communication since then.

Summing up, I'd like GrandeVegasCasino. com to answer clearly to the following questions:

1. Why did the customer service representative suggest not to disclose the transactions made with GrandeVegasCasino.com to any UK financial organization?

2. Why I wasn't informed that the access of UK players is no longer allowed?

3. Why I was not asked for identity verification and no security measures were triggered during the 75 deposits I made, using various payment methods (visa debit, master card, neteller)

4. Why a small part of the deposits were restituted only , even though I was told that partial refund is not possible.

5. how is it possible for a already closed account at the user's request to be locked after a few days for security reasons?

That means my account with GrandeVegasCasino.com wasn't valid and all transactions must be returned fully.

6. Why the casino customer avoides to answer clearly to my refund request?

I mention that all the personal informations provided at the time of creating my account with GrandeVegasCasino.com are correct.

I would be more than happy to provide any documents and the communication history with the casino if required.

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

Read the casino review

3 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
April 15, 2019

Hi expariorul7 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Unfortunately there is nothing we can do to help you in this instance.

You are correct that Grande Vegas does not and never has held a UKGC license. As such they are breaching UK law by accepting any play UK citizens. However, we do not pursue return of deposits based on lack of license alone. It is the responsibility of the UKGC to ensure that unlicensed operators are not accepting UK traffic.

Likewise, GamStop is not actually UK wide at the present time, but even where it was it would only apply to those operators who are signed up to this program. Unlicensed operators are not part of the GamStop program and as such would not be aware of any restrictions you have placed via GamStop.

Unless you have made clear to Grande Vegas that you were experiencing gambling issues I'm afraid there would be no grounds on which we could pursue a refund for you.

ThePOGG

User icon
ExPariorul7
April 22, 2019

Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for your response. I can perfectly understand your point of view and respect your decision to not get involved in my complaint. That doesn't mean I'll give up. I DO think the casino customer service should respect the players and asks honestly to their complains, not ignore them. At least. I feel free to contact any entity involved with this casino and ask for any details I'm interested in. kind regards, [EDIT]

User icon
ExPariorul7
April 22, 2019

and answer*

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

ExPariorul7 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Grande Vegas
  • Tigress Management Ltd

April 15, 2019

United Kingdom country flag

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.