ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Paddy Power - Cross Brand self exclusion

Ruling

Found for the Player - Paddy Power have directed us to their terms stating that you can't self exclude then register an account with Betfair. However, they haven't answered questions regarding what strategies they have employed to prevent players doing this inadvertently nor have they explained the 'Cross Brands Self-Exclusion' email that the player received supposedly after their self-exclusion would have expired.

Read our Paddy Power Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Dear Sir/Madam

My name is [EDIT] I have a problems with gambling and have self excluded from numerous gambling websites. On a moment of weakness on 29/4/17 I started gambling by opening a Paddy Power account and lost £180 and then on 2/05 /17 lost £320.

Shortly after losing £320 I received a email dated 2/5/17 titled Cross Brand Account Closure from paddy power saying since Feb 2016 betfair and paddy power are part of the same group and " as such, your paddy power account has been excluded as we have located a betfair account that is within a period of exclusion."

I feel quite aggrieved that they decided to close my account after losing all my money and even if that is the is the case why was I allowed to gamble if either account was within a period of exclusion.

I then called gamcare and they told me that I had a strong case maybe was due a refund.

I decided to ring paddy power this morning 3/4/17 to let them know how I felt and asked if I was due a refund, they refused saying the period of exclusion finished 28/4/17 but even if that was the case they shouldn't have let me even open a paddy power account as I'd already had a betfair account.

I also added that it's shouldn't take a period of 3-4 days that paddy power took to realise I had a betfair account therefore pleading me to gamble uncontrollably.

I also rang betfair to check my self exclusion they also said my self exclusion on 28/4/2017 but I felt this was strange exactly a day before I started gambling so I checked my email dated 2/5/17 from paddy power titled Cross Brand Account Closure and on the last paragraph it's says, " bear in mind you will not be able to reactivate parody power until the time period on Betfair has elapsed."

Even if that was was the case and my self exclusion finished 28/4/17 according to betfair and paddy power why on the titled Cross Brand Account Closure email dated 2/5/17 saying that I closing my account and I only can reactivate my account when the time period had elapsed when according to them it already had elapsed.

I feel I was due a refund.

Could someone please help me.

Yours Sincerely

[EDIT]

Contact no: [EDIT]

-------- Original Message --------

Subject: Cross Brand Account Closure

From: Paddy Power

Sent: Tuesday, 2 May 2017 16:25

To: [EDIT]@hotmail.com

Image

Hi,

As you may be aware, since February 2016 Betfair and Paddy Power are part of the same group – Paddy Power Betfair plc.

We have aligned databases and policies to ensure that customers from both brands are well looked after.

As such, your Paddy Power account has been excluded as we have located a Betfair account that is within a period of exclusion.

Any open bets on the account will stay pending until they have settled and potential winnings can then be withdrawn by contacting Customer Service. Any balance has been returned to the active payment method on the account.

Bear in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your Paddy Power account until the time period on Betfair has elapsed.

Best Regards,

Paddy Power Customer Service

Image

Read the casino review

1 Responses

ThePOGG
June 12, 2017

Hi Mrleng,

We've now reached the end of what we would consider to be useful conversation with Paddy Power regarding this issue.

Paddy Power have failed to cooperate fully with this discussion. They have pointed us to their terms and conditions, which you agreed to at point of sign-up and which specifically detail the restrictions on playing with Paddy Power/Betfair if you have already self-excluded with the other brand. They have not provided any explanation for the 'Cross Brand Account Closure' email that you received supposedly after the conclusion of your self-exclusion period nor have they given any information regarding what other policies they have in place to prevent problem gamblers from accessing their services other than terms and conditions.

As such we do not have enough information to draw a valid ruling in this situation.

At this point we would recommend that you take your claim to IBAS. As Paddy Powers chosen UKGC appointed ADR we would expect the operator to be more forthcoming in their explanation with IBAS.

Sorry we can't be of further help,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

Mrleng consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

May 5, 2017

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.