unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Pelaa – Winnings voided due to in-game purchase

Ruling

Found for the Player - In our opinion the max bet term cannot be legitimately enforced in this situation. The operators has refused to pay this player regardless.

Read our Pelaa Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hello,

On 30/05/2020 I have signed up on Genesis Group Pelaa casino (I am active player at their group casinos, so they are sending invites to their new casinos constantly). I accepted bonus of 150 % and have made deposit of 30 EUR via my MasterCard.

While meeting wagering requirements, I have made around 3000 bets under 5 EUR.

After meeting wagering requirements I kept playing a little (and won around 50% of further withdrawal).

I had 2 withdrawals on total amount of 1350 EUR as on 31/05/2020.

On 01/06/2020 I have received email from Pelaa with subject “Breach of T&Cs - Your Winnings at Pelaa” which stated following:

________

Dear [EDIT],

This e-mail is being sent to you in order to inform you that your winnings have been removed due to a breach of the Bonus Terms and Conditions during your game play.

You placed 2 bets of 12 up to 23.6, which is not allowed when playing with bonus funds.

Please read our Bonus Terms & Conditions, specifically clause 10:

Pelaa.com/termsandconditions/generalbonus

If you have any other questions or queries, please do not hesitate to contact us via live chat, email or phone.

Best Regards,

Pelaa Payments Team

[email protected]

LICENSING AND REGULATION

This website Pelaa.com is operated by Genesis Global Limited of 28, GB Buildings, Level 3, Watar Street, Ta’ Xbiex, XBX 1301, Malta. Genesis Global is a company incorporated under the laws of Malta with registration number C65325, that operates under a Class 1 on 4 license number MGA/CL1/1150/2015 issued on 5th August 2016, which is licensed and regulated by the Malta Gaming Authority and also regulated by the UK Gambling Commission, with License Number 000-045235-R-324169-008.

GAMBLING CAN BE ADDICTIVE. PLAY RESPONSIBLY: Pelaa.com/responsiblegaming.

________

I have further requested audit, where found transactions Pelaa were referring to:

Game name Debit posting date/time Real money bet Bonus money bet Real money payout Real money after balance Bonus money payout Bonus money after balance Currency

[EDIT]

Please see following picture of Reel Rush 2 prior bonus round start - [EDIT]

Please note how things are promoted here - “Buy Super Tokens”. At the bottom of the game you can also see bet – it does not changes after purchase of Super Tokens either.

I have won 2 bonus rounds in “Reel Rush 2” and prior bonus start I have purchased in-game currency called “Super Tokens”. That is exactly 2 transactions Pelaa referring to as a reason of winnings void (they are appearing in audit as multiple transactions, while in reality I have made only 2 purchases of “Super Tokens”).

Please note that there is no any message advising on bet or stake change after purchase of “Super Tokens”.

Please note that Pelaa T&Cs state following:

________

The maximum individual stake allowed when using a bonus (until wagering requirements are met) is:

• Slots and Video Slots - €5 per bet.

• Any other game - €30 per bet.

• Failure to follow this may result in forfeiting any winnings.

________

There are no any clarification about in-game purchases or anything similar to my case in rules.

I believe that overall flow of the game, descriptions in game with combination of how rules and conditions are written lead to unrightful winnings void for me. I believe I did not break any rules and I believe winnings were voided against any sense – nor common, nor technical.

Please also note that whole gaming session on Reel Rush 2 ended with negative impact on my bankroll. There were no winnings on that game.

Read the casino review

5 Responses

ThePOGG
Jun 14, 2020

Hi churik22 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

I'll contact the operator and see what we can find out for you.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

churik22
Jun 28, 2020

Hello ThePOGG representatives,

Kindly asking if there is any update regarding my complaint.

Mostly I am worried if casino is responsive at all and if there are any conversations ongoing?

I also understood that you have no more ADR agreement between Genesis group and ThePOGG. Could I kindly ask you to elaborate - what does it means for me and how it affects my case/complaint?

Kindly and respectfully,
Churik22.

ThePOGG
Jul 24, 2020

Hi churik22,

I've discussed this issue at length with the operator. While we would support your claim, sadly Pelaa have declined to adhere to our ruling.

In a general sense the 'Buy Bonus Feature' type games, buying a bonus feature is a violation of the max bet rule if the feature costs more than the maximum allowed bet. This is simply one large wager on the outcome of the bonus feature. Reel Rush 2's bonus feature is different. You buy extra tokens to give you an improved chance of triggering a better bonus feature. From a technical perspective this IS just raising your bet. But from a user interaction point of view you are paying a fixed cost to increase the chances of you receiving a better bonus feature. There are a least two degrees of separation between the 'price' and the 'winnings'. Unlike the scenario where you buy a bonus feature, buying tokens to make getting a better bonus feature more likely seems too far removed for the average user to understand that this is a bet or increasing your round wager.

As stated previously, the operator has declined to accept that opinion and is viewing the purchase of tokens as a violation of the max bet term.

Sorry we could not be of further help!

ThePOGG

churik22
Aug 06, 2020

Hi The POGG,

Thanks a lot for your support and assistance.

After receiving your answer I decided to go further and filled complaint with MGA. I explained situation to them and advised about outcome of complaint from your side.

At this stage MGA clearly requested following - "can you confirm with the POGG if the operator had initially agreed to all them to adjudicate the dispute?".

Can you please advise on that, so I can pass your answer to MGA?

P.s. I can also provide MGA ticket REF number, if that would be helpful.

Best regards,
Nikita Curakovs.

ThePOGG
Aug 07, 2020

Hi churik22,

We no longer have any formal relationship with this operator. We do NOT manage complaints formally on their behalf. Where we assist players in this capacity it is done informally and we cannot be considered to be acting as the operator's ADR.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

churik22 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Pelaa
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • Curacao eGaming
  • Genesis Global Limited

June 9, 2020

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.