unclaimed offers
Turn geo location off

Choose a country to view the site from

Currently viewing from:

United States

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

PlayOjo – ignored permanent self-exclusion

Ruling

Found for the Player - We believe that PlayOjo/Skill On Net have failed in their Responsible Gambling duties with regard to this player. A full report discussing the various issues can be found here - https://thepogg.com/skillonnet-responsible-gambling-failures/.

Read our PlayOjo Casino Review

Player's Complaint

Hi,

the casino/s in question are not listed here. Its a SkillOnNet casino- Playojo.com

My story is as follow:

I have requested to be permanently self-excluded by Drueckglueck.com last year on the 04.08.2017. They sent me the following email to confirm my permanent self-exclusion:

Dear [EDIT],

You have chosen to exclude yourself permanently from making any further deposits or real money bets. You may still log into your account, make withdrawals and view your account details. Please note that your self-exclusion will also apply on other sites sharing the same licence. For a list of the sites under the shared licence, click here 

If you have funds in your account which are available for withdrawal, we will initiate a withdrawal. In the unlikely event that you do not hear from us within 3 working days, please contact our Customer Support team. 

We have a full range of advice and support services available on our responsible gaming webpage here. 

If you need any assistance during this time please do not hesitate to contact ourCustomer Support team. 

Good luck in the Casino! 

Best Regards 

[EDIT]

 

Account Manager

Their sister site Playojo.com have since let me open an account there and gamble without any problems even so I asked to be permanently self-excluded. I lost GBP 700 till I realised that both casinos are related.

They now keep saying that permanent self-exclusion is 180 days and they are allowed to let me register and play... Surely this cant be true.... permanent means permanent?!

I will be more than happy if you can help.

best regards

Read the casino review

11 Responses

ThePOGG
Nov 03, 2017

Hi Borislav21 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Can you confirm that you are resident in the UK?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Borislav21
Nov 03, 2017

Hi ThePOGG ,

Yes I’m a UK resident.
I forgot to mention that should you require I will be more than happy to forward all my correspondence with the casino.

They said that the email I received confirming my permanent self-exclusion is automatic .... basically doesn’t count according to them!

Thanks for your help!

ThePOGG
Nov 03, 2017

Hi Borislav21,

That would be helpful - please forward any relevant communications to [email protected]

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Borislav21
Nov 03, 2017

Hi there ,

I have forwarded the correspondence with Playojo to the email above .

Thanks again! Much appreciated !

Borislav21
Nov 13, 2017

Hi ThePOGG,

just wondered if there is any update on my case ?

Thanks

ThePOGG
Nov 13, 2017

Hi Borislav21,

I'm still discussing this issue with the operator and will revert to you when that is concluded.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Borislav21
Nov 13, 2017

Thanks for your quick reply .

Best regards

ThePOGG
Dec 01, 2017

Hi Borislav21,

Just to provide you with a quick update - I'm currently discussing some of the nuances of the Responsible Gambling requirement of UK operators with the UKGC as they are likely to have some bearing on your case. I will revert to you once I've got answers to my questions.

ThePOGG

Borislav21
Dec 01, 2017

Hi ThePOGG,

Thanks a lot for the update.

Best regards

ThePOGG
Dec 18, 2017

Hi Borislav21,

I've now concluded our conversation with both the UKGC and the operator regarding this issue. It is our opinion that the Skill On Net Ltd license holder have failed in their Responsible Gambling commitments in this instance.

Having taken advice from the UKGC we feel that the following issues are significant in this case:

i) The Self-Exclusion tool provided within the Skill On Net account system appears to be specifically organised to direct players who wish to Self-Exclude to the shorted possible exclusion length, providing information about longer exclusion only in a single dismissable alert after a Self-Exclusion is already engaged and as a single line within terms and conditions. Any user that initiates a Self-Exclusion via this tool is automatically excluded for the minimum possible time.

2) When you initiated your Self-Exclusion you were specifically sent an email stating that this exclusion was "permanent" and applied across all operators on the license. The operator's explanation that the Self-Exclusion would be permanent as long as the player did not take positive action to gamble again after the 6 months had elapsed isn't accurate. All Self-Exclusions are required to be extended 7 years after the end of the selected exclusion period. That SkillOnNet have decided to extend this period indefinitely does not change the fact that the Self-Exclusion period is considered to be '6 months' not 'permanent'. Under the SkillOnNet definition of a permanent Self-Exclusion, a 6 month Self-Exclusion would be just as permanent as a 5 year Self-Exclusion.

3) Even after a Self-Exclusion period has expired the UKGC LCCP requires that an operator provides a 24 hour cooling-off period and discuss the reopening with the account holder directly before further play is allowed. Our understanding is that there may be exceptions to this but that re-registration would not remove this requirement as a standard.

You can read a more detailed report on this issue here - https://thepogg.com/skillonnet-responsible-gambling-failures/.

Unfortunately the operator have informed us that that they disagree with our conclusions and stated that they believe they are fully compliant with their Responsible Gambling requirements. As such they have terminated their dialogue with us regarding this issue.

We have passed this information on to the UKGC for further investigation. Unfortunately the UKGC will not provide any information to us regarding the conclusions or consequences of any investigation they conduct so we will not be able to provide you with any further information after this point.

We would suggest that you submit your complaint directly to the UKGC at [email protected]. The UKGC do NOT intervene in individual complaint issues, but as this is an issue where a breach of license may have been involved any information you can provide them would contribute to any investigation of this situation that may result.

I would also recommend that you contact this group's ADR, eCOGRA. They may not be able to help as this is a Responsible Gambling issue and may exceed their purview, but it is at least worth asking the question.

Sorry we could not have been of more help with this issue,

ThePOGG

Borislav21
Dec 19, 2017

Hi guys ,

Thanks a lot for the hard work. It’s much appreciated.

I’ll follow your advice and fill a complaint with the UKGC.

All the best to you and happy Xmas !

Best regards

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.