unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Ruby Slots – Confiscated Casino Money

Ruling

Declined - Player refused to accept basic facts and subsequently became rude and abusive. As such we've declined to review their complaint.

Read our Ruby Slots Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hi,

My name is [EDIT] and I am submitting the following complaint about the online casino ruby slots. I took a welcome bonus of $50 dollars, a no deposit bonus, and I completed the play through and had $100 in my account - the casino agree with me on this and placed the $100 in my account. I then went to withdrawal using bitcoin and was asked for document verification. I provided the following documents - passport, bank statement, and health insurance statement. I was then told that because when I entered my address at the time I opened my account I entered 1 digit incorrectly so the address on file did not match the address in my documents my account would be closed and I would not be paid.

Read the casino review

11 Responses

ThePOGG
Jul 24, 2017

Hi brkatz1234 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Unfortunately it's unlikely we're going to be able to do anything the help you here. The reality is that no deposit bonuses are frequently targeted by those engaged in fraud trying to claim more bonuses than they are entitled to. They often do this by changing the registration details slightly enough to allow a second account but close enough they can claim this is a typo. As such this operator has clear terms stating that registration details have to be accurate.

I'll speak to the operator but in all likelihood you won't be paid.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

brkatz1234
Jul 24, 2017

I registered with my real name and typed 1 digit in incorrectly on my address- all my documents I sent in are accurate and have my real address. Again, I typed 1 digit incorrectly when typing in my real address. If I don't get my money it means that anyone who enters their address incorrectly by 1 digit or letter can have all their money confiscated - that is totally and completely absurd. Imagine a legitimate business confiscating money because you typed 1 letter in wrong. Its clear that I did not intend to defraud anyone - I used my real name when I registered.

brkatz1234
Jul 24, 2017

Think about how absurd this is. Lets say I type in one letter wrong with my street address - its okay to confiscate my entire account. The claim the website is making is that I committed fraud - I do not have duplicate accounts and I used my real name - how is typing your address in incorrectly by mistyping 1 digit committing fraud? Would that hold up in any legitimate court - no.

brkatz1234
Jul 24, 2017

The question here is simple - did the player in question intend to defraud the company or did the player accidentally enter 1 digit incorrectly when entering my address. Why the fuck would I deliberately enter my address incorrectly when I did not have a previous account with rubyslots. They can't show intent.

brkatz1234
Jul 24, 2017

And lol at the the rules clearly say your address has to be entered correctly - so if I deposited a thousand dollars and made 20 grand its okay to take my money because I mistyped 1 letter in my address - come on - think precedent.

ThePOGG
Jul 26, 2017

Hi brkatz1234,

I've already been clear with you regarding the reason for this - widespread fraud. I'm not explaining that any further. Whether you did this intentionally or not, it's still against a clearly defined rule. Interpretation of your intention is a judgement call that the operator are now at liberty to take. You were playing with a free bonus (had nothing at risk) and given that this is entirely risk free, if you've failed to adhered strictly to the rules it's highly unlike you're going to get paid. Had this involved a deposit there's more of a case to be argued.

I understand your frustration but there are reasons for rules and, significantly, you're complaining about a group we have at Blacklisted status. Our leverage over this group is minimal at best.

ThePOGG

brkatz1234
Jul 26, 2017

I understand that POGG doesn't have much leverage with some companies that have already been blacklisted but its absurd to suggest that not completely complying with minor rules would justify confiscation of your balance if you made a minor mistake in good faith. I had no reason to not enter my real address (I only have 1 account) and I typed 1 digit in incorrectly. There is absolutely no evidence that I intended to committ fraud - I used my real name when I registered and the address I entered was off by 1 digit. The whole argument about fraud presumes that someone had a reason to commit fraud - I only opened 1 account so there was absolutely no reason for me not to list my real address which I did except for 1 number. I used my real name and birthdate when I opened my account. The definition or fraud is misrepresenting something material - my name and who I am is material - where I live is not (Why do these casinos want to know where I live anyways they can verify that I'm not opening a duplicate account by verifying my identity - I've never had a single offshore sportsbook in 10 years ask me to verify where I live -its irrelevant).

What difference does it make if I deposited or not - the actions of this casino imply that anyone who makes a deposit and moves can have their account confiscated if they don't change their address on their profile. Does that make any sense.

brkatz1234
Jul 26, 2017

Why are these casinos asking where players live anyways - its none of their business - imagine if I walked into a casino and won a bet and they said to get paid I had to verify I lived at a residence (completely fucking absurd). They, in my opinion, have the right to verify my identity - they have no reason to verify where I live- I mean what the fuck are they going to do report me to tax or legal authorities.

ThePOGG
Jul 27, 2017

Hi brkatz1234,

1) Anti-Money Laundering laws require such checks.

2) If casinos don't confirm who you are they cannot confirm whether you're entitled to the bonus or not (only one per person)

I'm sorry your unhappy about this situation but I've explained to you the reasons for the rules, our position and the likely outcome of your complaint and there's no justification what-so-ever for the language you've just used. If this happens again I'll close this complaint without even making enquiries regarding whether the operator would be prepared to overlook the infraction in this case.

Keep your communications polite from this point on.

ThePOGG

brkatz1234
Jul 27, 2017

Are you not reading my comments - I clearly said I agree that casinos and sportsbooks must verify identity. My question is why verifying my address is relevant - and not at tool to simply taking money from players - and why you can allege a player who used their real name and a 99% correct address committed fraud.

ThePOGG
Jul 27, 2017

Hi brkatz123,

Are you not reading my comments? Verifying address is absolutely relevant whether you like it or not.

Please take your complaint elsewhere as we're no longer interested in assisting you.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.