ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

SlotJoint - allowed account to be opened by resident of the UK

Ruling

Resolved - SlotJoint Casino have informed us that this player has been paid. The player has been non-responsive to our requests for updates so we assume they are happy.

Read our SlotJoint Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

In July 2020 I opened an account with slotjoint who are not registered with the UK Gambling Commission. They accepted deposits after I made them aware I lived in the UK. I have asked several questions and they have refused to address the questions. I understand getting my money back may not be an option, but the casino has 5 stars with yourselves and I think accepting money from UK players knowing if winning will never be paid as dishonest. I have attempted to resolve the issue with the casino and highlight my concerns and they just reply quoting their terms and conditions. Ideally I would like all money returned, but understand this may not be possible, but at least I can highlight my concerns and their non-engagement to address my questions. Many Thanks

Read the casino review

21 Responses

User icon
thepogg
February 1, 2022

Hi karenby - welcome back.

Please ensure you have read our Complaint Guidance to ensure that you fully understand how our complaint management process functions.

What country did you select on the registration form?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
February 1, 2022

They are advising I didn't select the UK, the country selected seems to be the first country on the drop down. My UK address and postcode were correct and they accepted money in pounds. Additionally I advised them I lived in the UK and continued to accept deposits. They are now stating all money I deposits was freeplay as winnings would not have been paid. I have tried to resolve this with the casino and highlight the failures in their system - but they have continues to send me quotes from their terms and conditions.

User icon
thepogg
February 5, 2022

Hi karenby,

The UK does not appear as an option on the registration form. If you have selected another country, then you have provided incorrect information at point of registration and the operator would not be at fault for your actions.

How did you inform the operator you were a UK resident? What have you deposited after this point?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
February 7, 2022

I think I asked on live chat and checked again via email. I did not add a country I am assuming the country was already selected. I understand getting my money back is very unlikely - but they are accepting UK players and payment in pounds - my full address and postcode was detailed and a UK bank card used - I know most trustworthily casinos not holding a UK licence would not accept UK players.

User icon
thepogg
February 7, 2022

Hi karenby,

Slotjoint did not knowingly accept a UK customer if you did not select the correct country of residence on your registration form.

Do you have a copy of any communication where you informed the operator that you were a UK resident?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
February 8, 2022

Yes I emailed them on the 24th July and advised them I lived in the UK and that they shouldn't be accepting deposits - I think after this I clarified with livechat - deposits were accepted on the 30th July. I than googled the casino and came across them on your site and email to advise them again they should not be accepting UK players as they have 5 stars on ThePogg website. I did not follow it until a few weeks ago up due to a Covid-19 that made me very ill - all good now. When I emailed them they recently they continued to quote their policy - despite me sending an email on the 24th July to advise I lived in the UK they accepted deposits on the 30th. I can forward these emails.

User icon
thepogg
February 9, 2022

Hi karenby,

Please take screenshots of these emails and forward them on to [email protected].

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
February 9, 2022

I forwarded the emails onto you yesterday - I have also taken a screenshot of the 2 emails and email this to you today.

Many Thanks

[EDIT]

User icon
thepogg
February 12, 2022

Hi karenby,

Thank you for your email.

This case is not as clear cut as perhaps you have suggested. While the emails do show you informing the operator that you are a UK citizen, they also show you clearly acknowledging that as Slotjoint don't have a UK license you should not be allowed to play with them. Effectively, this has not been a case of you being unaware that this operator was not licensed to accept your play.

Did you receive any response from Slotjoint to either of these emails?

You may find our free Responsible Gambling app BetBlocker useful. It allows users to restrict their internet capable devices from accessing over 15k gambling operator websites for between 24 hours and 5 years.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
February 13, 2022

Thank you for email.

The first email I sent, I believed I checked with livechat who confirmed it was ok to play. The second email was sent after I googled the casino. I don't think I implied I was incompletely unaware that the casino was not licenced in the UK. The issue I am raising is they continued to accept money after being aware I lived in the UK. I did attempt to raise the issue with the casino to highlight failings in their system as they do have 5 stars with yourselves. In my humble opinion this practice would not be viewed as trustworthy. Apologies if my communication caused confusion. Many Thanks

User icon
karenby
February 13, 2022

In response to the emails - I did forward the complete email communication to you. I received a respond from the second email, as I did not contact livechat like I did after the second email. Many Thanks

User icon
thepogg
February 13, 2022

Hi karenby,

We will certainly take the issue up with SlotJoint as we do not work with partners who accept UK traffic illegally. However the point stands that you have knowingly engaged with an operator who did not have a license, and are now looking to use that as grounds for a refund of losses. That in of itself is not behaviour that is commendable as this is looking to create a no lose proposition for yourself. If you won, you would insist that you should be paid the winnings and if you lost you look to force a refund. Ordinarily we would decline any complaint of this nature and are only considering it as it is one of our partners and they would have fallen outside of the standards we view as acceptable if they have intentionally done this.

The reality here is that the most likely explanation is simply a support agent who failed to close your account rather than the operator making any concerted effort to target or accept UK traffic. This is supported by both the terms of use, which prohibit UK players, and a registration form that precludes players being able to select the UK.

However, to rule out intent, I do want to see any response the operator made to the communications where you told them you were a UK resident. The screenshots show you emailing to tell the operator this, but do not show any response the support team made. Did you receive any direct response to these emails?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
February 13, 2022

I have forwarded emails onto yourself. I do not have a reply from the first email I sent as I believe I contacted livechat after and was assured I could play- but I do have a reply from the second email and was able to access the account and deposit after this email was received.

I understand if it was human error and simply a mistake by not closing the account however, good practice would be too acknowledge the the mistake rather than quoting there terms and conditions

They are also accepting deposits in £'s considering the UK is the only country in the world that uses pounds it is questionable why they are accepting UK currency.

I did want my money back when advised there terms and conditions meant i was playing for free. I asked the casino several questions and they did not provide any answers - this is also bad practice.

I know I have no chance of getting my money back, again I am highlighting these concerns regarding the casino as they do have 5 stars and it is not how a 5 star casino should be behaving. Regardless of weather I knew the casino had no licence or not the casino in my opinion has acted untrustworthy.

User icon
karenby
February 13, 2022

I understand that I may have did something wrong by continuing to play at the casino after knowing they did not have a UK licence - however, my point here is that I don't have 5 stars and reputation to protect - I am merely a normal person that paid 100's to play free games. Many Thanks

User icon
thepogg
February 28, 2022

Hi karenby,

Please confirm the dates and amounts of any deposits you made after you first informed the operator that you were a UK citizen.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
March 2, 2022

Hello

24/07/21

[EDIT]

I informed the operator for the first time after making the above 2 deposits and went on make the deposits below, after informing the operator.

30/07/21

[EDIT]

Many Thanks

[EDIT]

User icon
thepogg
March 14, 2022

Hi karenby,

Slotjoint are claiming that they did not receive the email that you have screen shotted for us on the 24th of July. As such we need you to create a video to verify the email's authenticity.

Please follow the instructions below:

- Using your phone record a video of you accessing email account on another device.

- Please log into your email account (you need to show the log in process) via the email provider's web page, not via an app.

- Go to your sent folder.

- Locate the email you sent to Slotjoint.

- Open this email, showing the full email including the sent information.

Then send this video through to [email protected] If the file is too large, you can use a free file transfer service, like WeTransfer.com.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
karenby
March 14, 2022

Thank you.

I have sent a video via we transfer. I am hoping I have completed correctly. [EDIT]

Please find attached video showing email sent to slotjoint

User icon
thepogg
April 2, 2022

Hi karenby,

Our understanding is that the deposits you made after sending the email informing Slotjoint you were a UK resident will be returned. We would appreciate it if you could confirm when you receive your funds.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
thepogg
April 9, 2022

Hi karenby,

Have you received your refund?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
thepogg
April 16, 2022

Hi karenby,

If we haven't heard from you by Friday the 29th of April I'll assume you no longer need our assistance and close this complaint.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

karenby consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • SlotJoint
  • Curacao
  • NORTHERN ENTERTAINMENT N.V.

January 31, 2022

United States country flag