ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Super Lenny - let me play while self excluded

Ruling

Resolved - This was a complicated issue, but the bottom line here is that due to a combination of technical and human error a player that should have been able to engage with Super Lenny's problem gambling protection protocol slipped through the net and was allowed to gamble more than they should have been.

Having discussed this issue at length with Super Lenny they are currently in the process of upgrading their technical systems to ensure this issue does not arise again and have undertook retraining of the staff members involved. They have also refunded all deposits that were either a) over the amount that the player try to restrict to or b) made after the point where the player informed them they had a gambling problem.

While it's never a good thing to have these problems arise in the first place, Super Lenny were willing to take on board feedback and have responded to this issue in a professional manner that's to be applauded.

Player's Complaint

deposit guarantee banner

Hello,

I want file a complaint against the unfair Super Lenny casino and I really need your help.

The problem started when I have contacted them via email to set an 80£ deposit limit but it did not work. So I contacted them and they asked for documents to verify my account to send the over the limit deposits. When I sent the documents I asked them to self exclude me and I've just read that Super Lenny was a sister casino with Thrills casino. So I sent another email telling them that I was self excluded from Thrills casino and that I wanted my account closed.

After sending me the over deposits back, they reopened my account again and let me deposit and play again. Did I have to beg them to not let me play.!!!

After that I sent them emails asking why they did not close my account when I asked and mentioned that I had gambling problems and that I'm self excluded from their sister casino but they never answered this question. But they did answer the question of why didn't the system of Super Lenny casino pick up my self exclusion from Thrills and stopped my registration as my details are the same from email to card details.

They answered saying that they could not refuse my registration and depositing at their casino because there are various reasons where i can close my account.

Yes if it was a normal account closure your answer would be right but I self excluded myself for your systems to stop me from playing which means only that I cannot stop myself and I rely on self exclusion to help me, that is why you have self exclusions and you know the difference between that and normal account closure and you have the self exclusion option that could be done on site as well as through emails. Why would I self exclude myself via email when I can do it quicker onsite. And all casino understand what is a self exclusion for. Proper casinos will never let a self excluded member reopen account except if the person uses different details and emails.

When they didn't want to sort out the problem with me I asked them who is their regulators many times but they did not want to tell me. Then someone answered that IBAS is their regulator but they did not tell me the real regulator.

I answered them that IBAS is an adjudicator and that they are misleading me as they have been doing from the start.

I have all the emails reinforcing what I said so I will be happy to send you any copies.

I request full refund from this casino who does not honour any of the regulators rules and come up with their own rules.

Regards

Read the casino review

17 Responses

ThePOGG
February 16, 2015

Hi sabrina19851 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Before I can do anything to help you I need you to provide me with the username and email address you use at Super Lenny casino.

It would also be very useful if you could forward on all correspondence with Super Lenny/Thrills to [email protected]

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
February 20, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

I can't do anything to help you before you provide the relevant details to locate your account.

Please forward them asap.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

sabrina19851
February 26, 2015

Hello

I did send the details and communications needed to your email.

Regards

ThePOGG
February 27, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

I've had a look through the email chain you've sent me and there are a couple of points I would make;

1) Self-exclusion - Super Lenny are right in this instance. There are many reasons that players self-exclude and the majority of self-exclusions are not intended to be permanent or for reasons of gambling addiction.

For instance some players choose to place temporary self-exclusions if they've depleted their monthly budget for gambling. Others self-exclude at times when they feel they are financially strained. Other self-exclude for period where they feel they'll have diminished control (i.e. when intoxicated).

When self-excluding for reasons of gambling addiction, it's very important that you make completely clear to the casino that you are a gambling addict/problem gambler and that you are looking to permanently restrict yourself from use or their services.

If you are not 100% clear about this casinos will assume a more mundane reason for the self exclusion.

2) Super Lenny have provided you with all the appropriate information regarding their regulator. Super Lenny are licensed by the Maltese MGA outside of the UK (previously known as the LGA) and - as is appropriate for this issue - with the UKGC within the UK. The UKGC do not directly deal with player complaints. Instead they require that their licensees work with an Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) service. In this case, Super Lenny use IBAS as their ADR and as such IBAS are the appropriate body to forward you on to.

I'm not really sure what you're looking for Super Lenny to do here. As far as I can see they have already refunded any funds that were lost over and above the deposit limits you set. Of course you should never have been allowed to deposit more than those limits and this was a clear technical failure on the Super Lenny site. However, as they've already returned any funds over and above that which you shouldn't have been allowed to deposit that's seems to be a non-issue.

If, as I suspect, you're looking for the return of ALL funds deposited with Super Lenny of the life span of your account I'm afraid I can't support this. While I will be discussing the problem gambling protocol that is applied across the two casinos in this brand with Super Lenny as I feel checks should be done across both databases, you were a willing player at Super Lenny. You made an account, you deposited to that account repeatedly and you even went so far as to engage with the gambling protection system by trying to set up well managed deposit limits. While I agree you should have been prevented from setting up a Super Lenny account in the first place, these behaviours don't signify someone who's behaving impulsively. They are the behaviours of someone actively engaged with the management of a gambling addiction, not someone who's in the midst of a irrational loss spiral.

It seems to me that this is less a case of how problem gambling has been managed in this specific instance (had you not been playing with Super Lenny you would have been playing with another casino and possibly one with a far less robust gambling protection infrastructure), but with finding out after the fact that Super Lenny is associated with Thrills casino and then using this to justify seeking all losses returned rather than just those that were in excess to your own pre-defined limits.

I'll speak to Super Lenny and ensure any losses over and above your defined deposit limits have been returned, but that's as much as I'm prepared to chase in this instance.

ThePOGG

sabrina19851
February 27, 2015

Hello

In one of my emails to superlenny that i sent to you it shows that i asked them to self exclude me because i have gambling problems as they had my account closed waiting for my documents.but instead they reopened it even though i mentionned at this time the gambling problem and they let me deposit again and play

ThePOGG
February 27, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

What date did this deposit occur?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

sabrina19851
February 27, 2015

Hi

23rd january: asked for a self exclusion and mentionned that i cannot stop myself depositing

26th january: mentionned the gambling problem with sister casino thrills

29th january: asked for self exclusion

But still reopened my account

I did send you the communications on your email

Regards

ThePOGG
February 27, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

I'm not asking when you mentioned "problem gambling" - that is quite clear from the email chain and happened on the 26th of January - I'm asking when you made a deposit after that point? I can't see anything with the emails you've send through to suggest you've made further deposits after the 26th.

I agree that they have reopened the account, but that quite clearly has happened to allow them to return the funds that you were incorrectly allowed to gamble (i.e. the funds get returned to your account so that you can withdraw them).

Thanks,

ThePOGG

sabrina19851
February 27, 2015

I have made deposits after the mention of the hambling problem.but they never sent them back.

They only sent me 80£ thAt was deposited over my deposit limit due to a system falute before i asked for the self exclusion.

I cannot find the last dates of deposit. I will check my bank statement.

sabrina19851
February 27, 2015

sorry they aent 120£ not 80£. Just checked now

sabrina19851
February 27, 2015

I have sent the copies of the deposits. From them they have sent the 120£ over the seppsit limit.

I think the last one is showing on my account as 82£ on the 30th january but is would be the 28th or 27th as it takes a day or two to show on bank statement

ThePOGG
March 6, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

Just to keep you informed, I am currently discussing this issue with Super Lenny and will revert to you when I have more information.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
March 23, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

After further discussion with Super Lenny the casino management have agreed that your account should have been closed permanently on the 26th of January when you stated clearly that you suffered from gambling problems. The re-opening of your account was a consequence of your documents passing security verification - which is standard practice amongst all online casinos - but given you'd clearly informed the casino of problem gambling issues, that should have taken precedent and your account should have remained closed.

As such Super Lenny should have now returned all deposit made after the 26th of January. If you could confirm this and let me know I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

sabrina19851
March 23, 2015

Hello

Thank you very much for the help.

They did not contact me or send any deposits back.

Did they mention how much will be sent back to me.

sabrina19851
March 24, 2015

Hello

Thank you very much for the help.

They did send me the deposit back.

They did not say anything about the self exclusion from their sister casino

Regards

ThePOGG
March 25, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

That's great news. I'll contact Super Lenny to ensure you're excluded at both Super Lenny and Thrills casino.

If there's anything further I can help you with let me know.

This issue will be closed as 'Resolved'.

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
March 27, 2015

Hi sabrina19851,

Just to confirm I have received assurances that you have now been excluded due to problem gambling from both casino properties.

If you feel that this is becoming a substantial issue in your life I would be happy to do what I can to put you in contact with various support groups.

I now consider this issue resolved.

All the best,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

sabrina19851 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

February 16, 2015

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.