MENU
Forum

Get up to 11

exclusive bonuses

What's so special about

our bonus reviews?


  • only recommended casinos
  • full wagering requirements
  • terms & conditions analysis
  • bonus value calculation
We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Vera&John – Could open account while self excluded

Ruling

Resolved - A self-exclusion from 2013 that was not enforced correctly has now been addressed and the player has received the appropriate refund.

Read our Vera&John Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hi, closed my account in april 2013 at Vera&john with gambling problem as reason. Same month i asked to open it. They asked me if i was sure, which as a gambler i said yes, but put a deposit limit on it.

Upcoming yrs i was able to Close and open the account several times. In dec 2016 i asked again to open the account and i had to inform Vera&john that the was not going to be responsible for my losses if i had losses. This was because i closed it Before, with gambling problems.

I know that i informed about they not being responsible for losses. On the other side i know Vera&john not handled this right. In the end Vera & John would never given me the opportunity to open the account.

The sum that i given - it approximatly..

Ive had a dialouge with Vera&John and they are saying that i asked for opening the account and informed that they shouldnt be responsible for any losses.

Are they able to do like this?

Read the casino review

9 Responses

ThePOGG
Nov 05, 2018

Hi pelle4444 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

As you are a Swedish resident the relevant regulations would be under the Malta Gaming Authority license. the MGA allow operator to re-open a self-excluded account at any time, even during the requested exclusion period, as long as the operator provides 7 days cooling-off period before re-opening the account. So when you asked for a self-exclusion, the next time you asked to open your account you should have been required to engage a 7 day cooling-off period. After this, if the subsequent account closures were simply normal account closures you could open and close at will.

Does the above answer your question?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

pelle4444
Nov 05, 2018

Hmm. So when i close my account and say i have a gambling problem. The casino can open the account? Thats not taking responsible gaming serious?

ThePOGG
Nov 07, 2018

Hi pelle4444,

They can re-open it after a 7 day cooling-off period. That is that standard that has been deemed appropriate by the Malta Gaming Authority.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

pelle4444
Nov 10, 2018

Hi, Thanks for reply. As i read at forums and so on MGA casinos have a responsibility. Read another case with MGA casino at the pogg Were ”the pogg” pointed out this:

”A casino is responsible to prevent you from accessing their services in two situations:

1) you have made clear to the operator that you have a gambling problem and cannot managed your betting on your own

or

2) where outside of your own admission of an issue there is clear and compelling evidence that you are acting irrationally and are not in control”

In my opinion im under nr 1 in this issue.

Other wise - What is the mening of closing an account permanent and say you have a gambling problem?

You have no chance get excluded. The casino can always open the account. This is not what i read about in other cases.

ThePOGG
Nov 10, 2018

Hi pelle444,

Yes I'm very familiar with the MGA requirements. Had you told the casino you had a gambling problem and they then either didn't close your account or re-opened your account immediately on request the operator would be in breach of these requirements. If you've told them that you have a gambling problem the operator are responsible to close your account and if you request to access the account again are required to provide a 7 day cooling-off period as described above.

I appreciate that you are frustrated, but those are the requirements as laid out by the MGA.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

pelle4444
Nov 16, 2018

Thanks for reply. 2013-04-14 they opened it without notice or 7 day cooling off (closed with gambling problem that time too). 2016-12-14 they opened the account after a 7 day cooling off period.

pelle4444
Nov 30, 2018

Hi, thanks for you feedback and help so far! Have you heard anything from the casino?

pelle4444
Dec 20, 2018

Hi, this case is resolved. The casino offered me refund which i accepted. Thank you very much for the help! You are doing a great work!

ThePOGG
Jan 07, 2019

Hi pelle4444,

That's great news and thanks for letting us know. We didn't really do a lot here - the issue simply needed to be brought to the attention of the right people.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

pelle4444 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Vera & John
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • Dumarca Gaming Ltd

November 5, 2018