ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Vernons - casino being unreasonable

Ruling

Found for the Casino - Vernons casino demonstrated that the submitting player has failed to comply with the security requests made to verify the identity of the account holder. The nature of this failure casts substantial as to whether the person named on this account is actually operating it.

Read our Vernons Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hello all, I'd like to be writing on better terms but need everyone to hear what my dilemma is with Vernon's Casino. I won't go on but as well as loads of emails and loads of phone calls with them I'm no nearer to getting paid. It goes like this......

After having a win and sending in relevant docs , etc they were having difficulty getting hold of me on the phone as I have changed companies and been given a new number through SKY, plus not surprising most try to call when your at work. Anyway I have explained the number on my account is now different to the one I had when signing up. Thinking this would be ok they have now asked for me to prove this . OK, but having spoke to SKY and explained the situation they unfortunately don't do this kind of request for personal letters , sending me a letter to help with a casino matter is not high on their list .....

So I've explained this to Vernon's but they are being so unreasonable to the point where my account and winnings will remain closed till they have this letter .... it's getting very frustrating and ruined any faith I have with online casinos. They have been very interrogating on the phone too, asking me questions such as wanting to know where do I work ? .. Hardly relevant Vernon's.

Now I can't possibly force SKY to send me this letter and Vernon's are saying no SKY letter , account remains closed....

Feel I'm hitting a brick wall and want share my experience with you . I'm hoping this will help expressing me concerns and you at the POGG can help ....

Thank you

[EDIT]

Read the casino review

10 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
April 9, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014 - welcome to the site.

Before I can do anything to help I need you to provide me with the username and email address you use at Vernons casino so that we can locate your account.

Once I have this I will contact Vernons and see what I can find out.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
STUBBSY2014
April 9, 2014

I'd like to add to my complaint . When they were having trouble contacting me on the original number I signed up with , they eventually did contact me as there was a confusion on what number I originally put down , so after being contacted etc and me explaining it all I thought this would be simple to rectify etc. After the hassle, I thought I'd just browse the terms and conditions and it only says a valid number must be provided ?!!! So it is valid as we have spoken .... Just baffled to as why without this letter (which I can't physically get ) where the problem lies ..... Regards [EDIT]

User icon
STUBBSY2014
April 14, 2014

In addition to this as per their terms it states the number provided upon signup must be contactable - which indeed it was...I was contacted by them on the number I signed up with...so where in their terms does it say the number given must be proved in a letter format from the said company ? this is just a complete breach of terms. [EDIT]

User icon
ThePOGG
April 15, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014,

Just to keep you informed - I have been contacted by a Vernons casino rep and we are now in the process of discussing this issue. I'll get back to you as soon as I have some useful information.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
April 16, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014,

I've heard back from Vernons and would like to clarify some details for you.

Vernons casino do not require you to acquire a letter from your phone provider stating ownership of the account. Here is what Vernons casino do require you to provide;

  1. A bill or statement associated with the phone number you currently have registered showing a date of issue within the last 3 months, your name and address and the phone number itself.
  2. A bank statement showing deposits being made to your Neteller account.
  3. Another bank statement or utility bill dated within the last 3 months showing your name and address.

Vernons inform me that these are the three documents they need you to provide to verify your account.

I completely understand your frustration with what you thought to be a request for a letter direct from your phone provider - this would be very difficult to obtain - but the above 3 documents should be easy enough to provide.

If you are comfortable with it you can CC [email protected] in to the email when you submit the documents. That way I can verify that the documents have gone through. I assure you that these documents will be destroyed as soon as they have been confirmed as received, but I'll leave that open as an option for you rather than a stipulation.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
April 16, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014,

Firstly I'm afraid I don't hand out my phone number to players for privacy reasons. Sorry.

Regarding the phone statement - they are not requesting a letter from Sky, they're requesting a bill. While I can understand that you may receive your bills electronically, all bill providers do offer paper statements on request as not all customers have internet access. All you need to do is call Sky and request that bills from this point on be provided via post. This can be altered back after you've received the bill/statement required to verify your Vernons account. It may take a month or two, but would seem preferable to not receiving your funds.

As there is a higher rate of fraud with deposits via eWallets higher security checks are required. By showing a deposit from your bank account to your Neteller account you're demonstrating that you are the named account holder. If you're saying that you've never made any deposit to your Neteller account from your bank then I think you may be in trouble here as that's far from a normal transaction pattern. Of course this could quickly be remedied by making a small deposit to Neteller from your bank.

I'll forward on the bill to Vernons.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
April 24, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014,

To keep you clear about my expectations here so that you have a clear idea of the time frame I envision this issue taking - I now expect this issue to take several weeks to resolve and it will require cooperation on your part in providing the required documentation.

First and foremost of the things you will need to supply is a bill/statement from your phone provider. As stated above you should be able to get your provider to send out paper statements relatively easily and may well be able them to get them to issue the last bill immediately if you request it. I can say with certainty that no progress will be made with regard to this issue without that document.

Furthermore, when submitting future documentation, Vernons has requested that you do so directly to them. This is a basic security requirement - and one I agree with. While I'm still happy to verify that they've received the documentation all that needs to happen for me to do that is to be copied in on the email. With the previous bank statement I served as an intermediary - i.e. it was forwarded to me and then I forwarded it to them - and as Vernons correctly pointed out to me, this breaks a chain of custody. Basically this is intended to ensure that I don't tamper with your documents before sending them to Vernons.

If you could keep me informed regarding your progress acquiring a bill from your phone provider I'd appreciate it.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
May 7, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014,

Have you contacted your phone provider to request paper statements be issued?

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
June 4, 2014

Hi STUBBSY2014,

Thanks for your email update. I'll follow up with the casino and pass on the information.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
July 7, 2014

Okay, I'm closing this complaint.

Vernons security team have raised some very concerning issues related to this player's account and I can personally confirm that they player has not met all of the ID requirements that the casino has requested of them. As such this complaint will be marked 'Found for the Casino' and no further discussion of this issue will be engaged in.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

STUBBSY2014 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

April 9, 2014

United States country flag