ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Megarush - Wrong use of MCC code

Ruling

Declined - We do not pursue refund of losses based on lack of license. If your government cannot enforce its restrictions there's no chance we can.

Read our Megarush Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

I am a Norwegian citizen with a Norwegian visa card. According to law in Norway and Rules at Visa, no providers are allowed to offer the use of Norwegian Visa cards on gambling websites, this is a serious violation of the rules and laws everyone is subject to by Visa's regulations. In accordance with the visa, all gambling transactions must be used code MCC7995 to ensure that all countries that have a ban on foreign gambling sites for the use of Norwegian visas must be marked. You have not done this as I with my Norwegian visa card have had to put on www.megarush.com a gambling site that should be marked with MCC7995. This is also an issue that I know from experience MGA hits very hard on, and I see that you have several gambling sites with Maltese licenses. For the time being, I have not taken this further with VISA and the Norwegian Lottery Authority, but instead hope we can get a quick solution where I get all my deposits made at megarush.

Read the casino review

20 Responses

User icon
thepogg
December 1, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Please ensure you have read our Complaint Guidance to ensure that fully you understand how our complaint management process functions.

As we are the ADR for the ML Entertainment license under the Malta Gaming Authority license there is certain information we have to provide you now.

You can find all the relevant information about this service here – http://thepogg.com/terms-of-use/ and the terms of use for our complaint service here - https://thepogg.com/terms-of-use-for-dispute-resolution-service/

To summarise.

– Use of this service does not preclude your seeking redress through court proceedings .

– This service is free to use for both the complainant and operator.

– At any point during the procedure the submitting party retains the right to withdraw their complaint. This does not preclude our right to continue the discussion with the involved operator of general issues related to the complaint (i.e. insufficiently clear terms and conditions).

– You are not obliged to obtain independent or legal advice or representation, though you may choose to do so.

If you have any questions about the above, let me know.

We act on behalf of the MGA licensing system. As such the standards imposed by the Norwegian Lottery Authority are non-relevant to this process, being the responsibility of the NLA to enforce.

I am unaware of the MGA taking any position on the MCC codes that operators use, either informally or within the published licensing requirements. Where specifically do you see the MGA taking a position on this matter?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 1, 2021

First of all www.megarush.com has no license in Norway.

And you are the site that controls all payments method going to this site, and in order of visa rules it is not allowed to allow Norwegian bankcards to deposit on gambling sites.

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 2, 2021

And Megarush said that i will have to take contact with you for a refund of my money because of the offense and breach.

User icon
thepogg
December 2, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89,

As already explained, our role has nothing to do with Norwegian licensing. If you wish to contest your losses on lack of a Norwegian license, you need to contact the Norwegian authorities. We manage complaints for the MGA and the MGA does not currently require their licesees to hold a Norwegian license to accept Norwegian players.

As previous requested, please cite the source where you have seen the MGA taking a position on MCC Code usage. You have made a clear statement that the regulator prohibits the actions taken by this operator and without this there is nothing we can do to assist you in this matter.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 2, 2021

As i see from my bank transcript you describe the deposit with electrical and realestate among more. This is absolutly a scam, since its going in to a gambling site. And that is a clear breach on visa rules on norwegian citizen

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 2, 2021

And it is a breach of visa rules, and no gaming site are allowed to offer visa as a deposit offer from a country where online gambling is not allowed

User icon
thepogg
December 3, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89,

If you have a complaint that relates to a breach of Megarush's MGA license, we can manage that.

Being very familiar with the MGA licensing system, I am aware of no rules specific to the banking codes under which transactions are processed contained within the MGA license requirements. You stated clearly in your submission that "This is also an issue that I know from experience MGA hits very hard on" - we need to know exactly what gave you this impression or there is nothing that we can do to assist you.

As already explained multiple times, if you are looking to contest breaches of Norwegian laws/regulations, you would need to contact the relevant Norwegian authorities. This is not a matter we are empowered to act upon.

If you are looking to contest that the operator are breaking Visa's rules, you would need to contact your banking provider. This is again outside of our remit.

Unless there is something specifically relevant to the MGA licensing system, this is not a matter we can assist you with.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 3, 2021

Regardless of MGA, it is a crime on visa rules using the wrong MCC code to avoid restrictions set by norwegian law. It is simply a crime that i can report the police and of course visa so that you cant use the service visa anymore on any casinos where you are in charged of payment

User icon
thepogg
December 3, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89,

You seem to be under a significant misconception. We are not Megarush casino. We do not process payments to or from any gambling operator. We are a 3rd party Alternative Dispute Resolution service.

As I have explained to you repeatedly, we manage complaints on behalf of the MGA licensing system and are only responsible for enforcing MGA licensing requirements. You would need to address any matters relating to Norwegian law to the relevant Norwegian authorities. We cannot help you with that type of issue.

ThePOGG

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 5, 2021

But when this site uses the wrong MCC code to avoid being blocked from the Visa card, is not that a offense and should be punished and my deposits paid back to me?

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 5, 2021

MGA – Warning to Unauthorised Operators & Ancillary Service Providers

3rd October 2018 | By Christopher Formosa

The Malta Gaming Authority is reminding operators and providers of gaming services and critical gaming supplies, including those offered by remote means, that as per article 13 of the Gaming Act (Chapter 583 of the Laws of Malta), they may only operate in and from Malta, if they are in possession of the relevant authorisation issued by the Malta Gaming Authority.

Operating in and from Malta includes, amongst other things, offering games to persons in Malta, having technical equipment located in Malta, having the natural person offering the gaming services located in Malta, and having the legal person offering the gaming services and critical gaming supplies registered and, or established in Malta.

The reminder extends to providers of ancillary services relating to gaming activity, who, by virtue of the aforementioned articles, are also prohibited from aiding, abetting or promoting games which are not duly authorised. Ancillary service providers include marketing affiliates, credit and financial institutions, payment services providers, cost centres and data centres.

Responsible gaming is a key priority within the MGA’s regulatory policy development and framework. Following upon the White Paper to Future Proof Malta’s Gaming Legal Framework published in July 2017, the MGA is pursuing tools and means to further strengthen the protection afforded to players. These initiatives include the recently published Player Protection Directive, and the Alternative Dispute Resolution Directive, as well as our declared intent to launch a Unified Self-Exclusion System across gambling operators, irrespective of channel.

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 5, 2021

Betting, including Lottery Tickets, Casinos Gambling Chips, Off-Track Betting, and Wagers at Race Tracks.

Use this MCC for merchants who operate gambling or betting establishments, including those that may be associated with hotels, restaurants, riverboats, and resorts, that allow customers to use their bank cards to purchase gambling chips, lottery tickets, or to place wagers.

For gambling or betting merchants associated with hotels, restaurants, etc., transactions representing the purchase of gambling chips, lottery tickets, or wagers with a bank card must be classified under this MCC. Other transactions, such as food, lodging, etc., must be classified under the appropriate, separate MCC for the type of business.

FROM VISA and MASTERCARD!

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 5, 2021

Every merchant that registers their business will have to go through a series of legal procedures to be listed and connected to the financial and commercial system at large. The spread of globalization has led to the need for developing a unified system of merchant identification, or – more importantly – categorization of their types of activities.

This is where the MCC, or Merchant Category Code, comes into play as a four-digit number listed in ISO 18245. The given codes identify merchants by their type of activity and allow financial service providers to track and classify transactions based on their aim.

It is important to note that MCCs are often used to identify and block transactions within some prohibited industries that may be illegal in some jurisdictions. Essentially, MCCs allow processors to stop transactions from going through if they are being directed at some merchants providing illegal services within a country.

For instance, MCC 7995 – Betting, including Lottery Tickets, Casino Gaming Chips, Off-track Betting, and Wagers, is illegal in some countries. As such, once a transaction processor receives a payment request to an MCC 7995 merchant from a country where betting is illegal, the transaction will simply be declined.

The correct choice of MCC has a direct impact on the effectiveness of payment processing. The MCC corresponds to the merchant’s “predominant business activity” and has to be assigned accordingly to avoid unnecessary fees and possible sanctions on the part of payment scheme operators.

Interchange Rates

The bank card brands and payment processors like Visa and MasterCard rely on MCCs for determining the interchange rate. The given rate represents the wholesale price consumers and merchants pay when the credit card is processed. As such, the MCC determines the rate, varying slightly between brands. Interchange fees will be higher per transaction for high-risk industries, since they have higher chargeback rates.

High-Risk Industry Identification

Card scheme operators use MCCs to identify transaction destination industries and prohibit their processing if the merchant is either illegal or banned in a specific jurisdiction.

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 5, 2021

Declaring one type of transaction with a specific MCC and actually processing the other one instead, aka miscoding, is illegal, and I would never recommend it. Dealing with constant declines as crypto-related MCC happen to fall into disrepute can be overwhelming for any business

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 5, 2021

and just a to make a point of how unserious Megarush is, they have now stopped answering me for a long time.

User icon
thepogg
December 6, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89,

As I've already directed you - if you wish to contest that this operator is in breach of VISA rules you would have to contest this with your payment provider. This matter does not relate to the fairness of a gambling transaction and as such is beyond the remit of this service.

ThePOGG

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 8, 2021

But you dont understand that they are operating illegaly? ? ?

User icon
thepogg
December 8, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89,

As I have repeatedly told you, nothing that the operator has done contravenes their MGA license. We function to manage complaints based on the MGA license. If there are other legal issues with this operator's activities, they are beyond the remit or authority of this service and would have to be managed by the relevant local authorities.

ThePOGG

User icon
Sonnymiami89
December 16, 2021

Since you dont understand the serious in this, i have reported this case to the MGA with a copy to VISA who will now tak action against megarush who has stopped answering me.

User icon
thepogg
December 16, 2021

Hi Sonnymiami89,

It is not a matter of not "understand[ing] the serious in this" - I understand perfectly well the nature of your claim. However, as I have explained to you repeatedly, this is a matter of VISA policies (not something we have any authority over) and Norwegian law (again something that we are not empowered to enforce).

The practices in question are NOT prohibited by the MGA license. As such you have NO CLAIM under the MGA license.

We are solely empowered by the MGA licensing system to enforce the rules put in place by the MGA. Not the rules of payment processors or the laws of other countries.

As your claim does not breach the MGA license there is nothing we, or the MGA, can do for you. If you want to pursue this issue, you will need to speak to your payment processor, or the relevant authorities in Norway.

I have explained the grounds for our position to you multiple times. I'm sorry you are not happy with the answer, but that does not change the answer. As you are unwilling to accept our answer and are repeatedly returning to the same points we have already answered, with no new information with bearing on your claim, we will now be closing this case. No further posts will be approved on this thread.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

Sonnymiami89 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Megarush
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • ML Entertainment Holding Limited

December 1, 2021

United States country flag