unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in Canada

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Yako – Cannot withdraw money

Ruling

Found for the Casino - This player had played down their balance before approaching us. There's nothing we can do to help you if you do that.

Read our Yako Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

I opened the account recently and submitted gov ID from current address as I only play casinos I know my account is fully verified and have the option to withdraw winnings when I want to. I continued to play , received no communication regarding further documentation needed as I was told would happen of there were any issues. I Won £1000 and was unable to withdraw. Contacted casino and received an apology but was still unable to withdraw and was not advised to provide any further documentation or what documentation was needed. Was given the impression that account was ok and will be able to withdraw next time. Continued to play , won £2500, was unable to withdraw again. Eventually I became frustrated and asked for the account to be closed as was appalled by how I had been treated and never allowed the option of withdrawing any winnings despite raising my concerns with staff on several occasions about this. Was finally told i needed to provide documents for an address I lived at a year ago but by now it was too late. Spoke to staff and told them how terribly badly my account verification and withdraw issues had been handled and they refused to admit any fault on their half and claimed I had been asked to provide documentation of a my previous address , I told them i called the offices and spoke to staff on two separate occasions regarding these concerns and was not once told about any further documents being needed or what documents were required. I asked them to provide any proof that I was asked to provide further documentation from yako casino from when i first won and raised these issues with staff there and they have been unable to provide any written or recorded proof. They insist they asked me but they didn't. If they did i would like to see / hear proof of their requests for further documentation and can someone explain why the government ID documents I provided were not sufficient to verify my account there . I sent photos of my driver's licence and council tax bill and also photos of the card I was using to make deposits.

Staff there have denied any wrong doing on there half but cannot give any proof or explanation as to why my account was not verified or that further documentation was requested from me even when I called to clarify the account was ok on two separate occasions. There are recorded telephone conversations which i asked for copies of but have not been sent until now. I'm certain any sane person , after listening to the conversations I had with staff there at yako regarding my account verification will understand that this is an error on their half and not mine. Unfortunately the email correspondence I have had with them following this has just been them trying to wriggle out of it. Even speaking to staff they cannot give a reasonable explanation or provide proof of requesting further documents for my account to be verified following me raising these issues. I told them it's a joke and now taking it to yourselves so hopefully you can help with this matter and get some sense from somebody there.

Kind Regards

[EDIT]

Read the casino review

20 Responses

ThePOGG
Mar 26, 2019

Hi tiredofthisnow - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

I need you to clarify some point for me here. While I understand your frustration at the breakdown in communication that resulted in you being unaware of the requirement for additional proof of address, the requirement - that the operator have to meet to remain compliant with their UKGC license - wouldn't be disregarded simply because of a breakdown in communication that resulted in you being informed of this need late. So, first, have you provided documentation to comply with this request?

Secondly, if I'm understanding you correctly you are saying that you've been asked to provide proof of address for a previous address. If that's correct, how has this address come into the conversation? Presumably, as you opened your account "recently", your account is registered to your current address not the historic address. So how has the operator become aware of the other address?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 26, 2019

Hi, thanks for getting back to me so quickly. My main point in all of this is that in would never place a bet with anyone if I knew I would not be able to collect any winnings from the bet. I don't know anybody who would. Yako casino denied me this opportunity on two separate occasions despite my best efforts in speaking to staff there to resolve the issue. The strange thing is I had only just opened the account with yako casino using my current address , when my previous address from a year ago was brought up I sent an email to them telling them that I no longer lived at that address , I hadn't lived there for a year now and my account should show my current address as is shown on the documents which I had already provided for them, my driver's licence and my council tax bill. I have the email which clearly shows this. I have no idea why my previous address is so important to them and on two separate occasions I called to check that if this would be a problem in verifying my account and om both occasions I was told that my account is ok and not asked to provide any further documentation. They have the recordings of these conversations but yet have denied me access to this or been able to provide any solid evidence of anyone requesting any further documentation. So you can see my issue here as I thought everything was ok with my account and making withdrawals would not be an issue, but it was and I couldn't withdraw. Finally when I spoke to a manager there he told me my account was created last year from my previous address but that's not true, I think they got confused maybe with an account I had made with one of their other casino sites from a year ago when I did live at the old address. But I had already emailed and told staff that I had moved. The chap told me he needs to see the previous address documents because I don't show up on his credit searches for my current address which i don't think is true and even so, ive provided a current council tax bill and my driver's licence showing my current address , both government issued ID , so how can these documents not be enough ? All my requests to yako to provide solid evidence or proof of me being asked to provide further documentation have not been met. I was paying a lot of money to the casino under the impression that any bet I placed and potential winnings would be honoured but they weren't. I literally could not withdraw despite hours of trying to rectify it . I hope this clarifies the issue. If you need any additional info from me I'm happy to help. Yako and L&L and All British Casinos staff have not been helpful in any of this , only trying to find new reasons as to why they should not have honoured my account and bets I placed. Maybe they don't like me for some reason, I honestly don't know what's going on there but it's definitely not fair .

Regards

[EDIT]

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 26, 2019

Also on the yako site under account details it doesnt actaully show the address details for the account or allow you to edit this. When I was told that my account had my previous address I looked to edit it to the correct address but it was not possible to do so. The site simply doesnt slow you to do that or to see that information. So then I emailed asking them to put my correct current address which should have been trying here in the beginning anyway.

ThePOGG
Mar 26, 2019

Hi Tiredofthisnow,

While I understand your frustration, we're not here to intervene in customer service issues or investigate what was said when. These are customer service issues and all we can suggest you do if you are unhappy with the service you've received is choose an alternative operator to play with in the future.

What we are here to do is help you get through the verification process and ensure you are paid if that is the correct outcome (i.e. no terms have been breached).

If the address you registered your account with does not match the address of the documentation you submitted, that is going to create additional steps in the verification process. That being the case they are going to look to verify both addresses, especially given that at point of registration you have agreed via the terms and conditions that the information you've submitted is accurate and there is a high occurrence of people entering false details to access multiple bonuses they are not entitled to.

I'll contact the operator and see what we can find out about what is still needed to complete verification.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 26, 2019

My current address is the address I signed up with and I gave adequate documentation for that address and I was unable on two occasions to withdraw the money I won. I have no idea why they wanted documentation from a previous address from a previous casino account with a different casino site. I signed up to yako with my current address this year.

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 26, 2019

Any time I join an online casino I ensure I have provided all documentation for the account to be verified so I won't have issues with making withdraws. I would not deposit or play any online casino without having the option to withdraw any winnings. I won twice on yako and both times they apologised and said the account is ok now. No communication was given either verbal or written from yako following my withdrawal issues advising me to provide additional documentation for account verification. None whatsoever. I requested my account be closed already and that they refund me the money I deposited in good faith after providing all documentation requested from me.

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 27, 2019

Also how did they expect me to pass verification for an address I no longer live at and haven't lived at for a year now. All my identification documents and utility bills are at my current address. It's absurd to ask anybody to provide verification documents for an address they no longer live at. Yet they allowed me to deposit and take my money knowing it would be virtually impossible for me to verify my identity to an old address. It's ridiculous. If somebody had made me aware of this then I never would have played at yako casino. They need to either lay me the money I won fairly and was not allowed to withdraw or failing that refund the money I deposited with them.

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 27, 2019

Can you please ask yako or L&L management why a current drivers licence and council tax bill both showing my current address , the address I gave when I signed up and registered my account are not good enough for their verification. And can you ask them why they need me to pass verification for two addresses simultaneously ? That's not even possible is it ? Can you ask them if they ask all new customers to pass verification from their current and previous addresses.

Regards

[EDIT]

ThePOGG
Mar 27, 2019

Hi Tireofthisnow,

I've now discussed this issue with the operator and received various supporting documents.

Firstly, you have registered two accounts with Yako Casino. The first on the 24/04/2018 and the second on 12/03/2019. Both have claimed promotions. This is clearly prohibited in terms and conditions:

"8. A player can open only one Account. Furthermore, the Account opened by the player is the only Account he or she can use to play the casino games. It is prohibited to sell, transfer and/or acquire accounts from other players."

The operator were reviewing your case to see if this should be viewed as a mistake and ignored or an intentional violation and part of that process was to verify both accounts. Hence the request for Proof of Address for the original account. Given that you last logged into the original account on the 23/03/2019 you know that you have two accounts.

Moving on, you have not placed any withdrawal requests and during the process of verifying your accounts have played your balance down. That being the case there is nothing we can do to help you. Where you choose to gamble with funds you are responsible for the results. Had you won you would have expected to be paid.

All we can recommend you do is firstly ensure you do not sign-up to the same operator multiple times and to contact us before you play your balance down if there is an issue in future. We may have been able to help with the verification issue. We cannot help recover funds you chose to gamble and lost.

ThePOGG

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 27, 2019

That's all understandable but doesn't explain why nobody mentioned any of this too me earlier , even when I called and asked staff there twice about my account. Nobody said I had two accounts and I know for sure I didn't login to any old account I had recently as I don't remember the login details for that account. Why would they let me continue to play without making me aware of any of this ? If I had breached there T&C's then somebody should have said something when I called, but they didn't and allowed me to continue depositing money into the casino.

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 27, 2019

Anyway forget it. I can see this is going nowhere and clearly I am in the wrong for depositing £2000.

Cheers

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 27, 2019

I would be interested to know what email address I apparently signed up to yako with last year as I've searched my emails and I can't find anything from them before opening this account in 2019.

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 27, 2019

Regarding never masking any withdrawal attempts and playing my account down. I made about 20 attempts to withdraw the money I won and evey time it would just return to the home screen. I won £1000 one day and it simply wouldn't work. Then £1500 another day and same thing happened. I asked Christ at L&L if an unverified account would even keep a record of any attempted withdrawals and he couldnt answer. Yes I did play the money down eventually but that's not the point. The point is denying a player the option of making a withdrawal or even explaining to them what they need to do to make it possible to make a withdrawal. This never happened, even when I called to query it on two occasions .

ThePOGG
Mar 29, 2019

Hi Tiredofthisnow,

First, yes, withdrawal requests would be recorded regardless of whether you'd provided verification documentation or not. There are no request logged on your account.

Yes a CS adviser may have encouraged you to engage with verification to pre-empt further issues but in all likelihood if you have had issues placing a withdrawal due to being returned to the home screen they have not understood that and we have seen no other complaints regarding similar issues from other players at any of the properties for this group.

As to why there was no mention of two accounts - at that point in time the operator will have been looking to determine whether or not your actions were in ignorance of the other account or malicious in intent. The information they would share would be limited until the intention was established and this practice is no different to any other group within the industry.

As previously pointed out - had you approached us prior to playing down your balance, we could have looked to assist you. Afterwards there is nothing we can do for you.

Finally your original account was registered under the email address [EDIT]. Your most recent account was registered under the email address [EDIT].

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 29, 2019

Ok i see what happened now. I was unaware I was playing with the account I opened last year at my old address. BUT I did speak to a woman at yako/all british casinos on Saturday the 23rd of march and she told me very clearly that she could see what had happened with the verification / account issues and assured me there would be no further issues with my account. The game play that evening will clearly show continuous game play until £1500 was won. A break in game play for a while, whilst I was struggling with the withdraw function once again. And then later continued to play it down.

Regards

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 29, 2019

Regarding malicious intent . How is that exactly ? By depositing money to the casino regularly ? How can an accidental duplicate account be seen as being malicious when the it's clear to see only one account is being played and there is no deposit bonus being taken advantage of on either account. How is it exactly that the casino works out if there is malicious intent ? And once again why was I not made aware of the duplicate account at any point ? Is it standard procedure to let the (pontentialy innocent)player continue to make deposits until when ? When exactly would somebody have made me aware of the duplicate account issue as after two telephone conversations with staff and online staff and emails at no point was this mentioned. It's kept a secret until I figure it out ?

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 29, 2019

Please just do my a favour and listen to the two telephone conversations i had with staff there at yako/all british casinos regarding my account and withdrawal issues. After that whatever conclusion you come to I'll respect it .

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 29, 2019

Also i have several emails from yako from when I was asked to provide documentation verifying my account and one stating that if there were any issues with account verification then they will be in contact with me. Another with me attempting to clear up the conflicting address issues. I'm happy to provide these emails so you can see for yourself if you like ? Am to be penalised for human error in having two accounts and Yako /all british casinos given a pass for there errors in not handling my queries regarding this issue ?

ThePOGG
Mar 30, 2019

Hi Tiredofthisnow,

While I'll be happy to listen to the phone calls if that's what you wish, it cannot make any difference what-so-ever to this outcome of this case.

The facts are very simple - you chose to play with and lost your balance before you approached us. As previously stated had you approached us beforehand we could have assisted you in looking to resolving these issues. But as things stand, resolving the verification issues now will not undo the fact that you've gambled away your balance. Nor should it. This is not a case of you being "penalised" for your mistake. Though there was a breach of terms this may not have been insurmountable. This is a case of you having to live with the results of your choice to gamble with your funds before you looked to resolve the issues.

I'm sorry, but there really is nothing further we can do to help you.

ThePOGG

Tiredofthisnow
Mar 30, 2019

Ok thanks for taking the time to look into this

Regards

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

tiredofthisnow consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Yako
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • L&L Europe Ltd

March 25, 2019

The North American country of Canada shares a border with The United States of America and has coasts on the Atlantic, Arctic and Pacific oceans. The population of Canada is currently in the region of 37.8 million people. With regard to the gambling sector, Canada has historically existed in a grey area but in recent years there has been a move towards officially recognizing that casino gaming, slots play, horse racing, lottery play, video lottery play, charitable gaming and interactive gaming are permitted in the country’s borders. There is no land-based licensor, but online gambling appears to be perfectly legal for Canadian citizens who wish to play.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.