ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Casino Cruise - Self-exclusion issue

Ruling

Declined - As Alternative Dispute Resolution services are prevented from managing complaints against UKGC licensed operators that involve Self-Exclusion issues, we have to decline this complaint.

Read our Casino Cruise Review

Player's Complaint

deposit guarantee banner

Due to difficulties to manage gambling, I have self-excluded from several Everymatrix casinos late 2014. In September 2014, I contacted Everymatrix directly by email and expressed to them my wish to be excluded from all their casinos, not being allowed to create any new account or make any deposit.

In March 2015, I however was attracted back to gambling and opened an account on casino cruise, using the same email address (and other details) as used to ask Everymatrix to ban me from their casinos. At this time, I however did not play or make any deposits.

From March to December 2015, my account remained open and I was regularly marketed on the very same email address. This led me to deposit and play £1100 between the 4th and 5th December 2015.

After complaining and asked for a refund to Everymatrix, they denied my claim, as per updated and obscure terms and conditions that I supposedly accepted.

I then referred the issue to the Ecogra, and they reached the same conclusion that the deposits should not be refunded, based notably on the fact that I "used a different email address, which is the reason why the operator was not able to block the account faster".

It sound ridiculous to me as I used the same email address used to ask Everymatrix to ban me permanently from their network and the account remained open for 9 months before my first deposit was made, which I think was a reasonable delay for them to block my account.

I am not too sure what to do at this stage, so your assistance is welcome.

Kind regards

Read the casino review

3 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
March 2, 2016

Hi auraucaria.

Unfortunately there's not going to be anything we can do to help in this instance. As a UKGC Accredited Alternative Dispute Resolution service we've have to work within their framework. eCOGRA are CasinoCruise and EveryMartrix appointed ADR service. Further to this, all ADR services have now been told to refer problem gambling complaints to the UKGC directly. That being the case, even if we were the appointed ADR service for these groups we wouldn't be allowed to engage with this type of complaint.

As such if you want your case reviewed further you’ll need to submit it to the UKGC at this email address [email protected]

Our current understanding is that the UKGC will review complaints in a general sense with regard to whether or not their policies need to be updated, but will not assist players in recovering funds in individual cases. To do that I believe that you will have to take the operator to court. I'm currently trying to get further details from the UKGC to assist players that wish to pursue this option.

I'll let you know as soon as I have more information.

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
April 6, 2016

Hi auraucaria,

Just a quick update. I will be attending a meeting with the UKGC towards the end of this month. During that meeting I will be looking to raise the current state of play for Self-Exclusion related complaints. As such I'd hope to be able to provide more information at that point.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
May 2, 2016

Hi auraucaria,

The information I've received from the UKGC is as followed:

1) Self-exclusion issues will remain reserved to the Gambling Commission. In other words, ADRs like ThePOGG.com cannot assist with this type of issue.

2) While the UKGC cannot directly force an operator to pay a player, where the commission find that an operator has not adhered to best practice it would be normal for the operator to to look to address the issue to be seen to comply with best practice. As such, if you've not already forwarded this issue to the Gambling Commission I would strongly suggest that you do so as your next step.

3) Your alternative to forwarding your issue to the Gambling Commission is to take legal action against the operator. The UKGC is considering publishing information for players on how to go about doing this, though I can give no information for the likely time frame within which this will be achieved.

Sorry we can't be of further assistance.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

auraucaria consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

March 2, 2016

United States country flag