ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Casino Joy - non payment

Ruling

Found for the Casino - After discussing this issue with the UKGC our understanding is that the regulator would not require the operator to return deposits in this situation.

Read our Casino Joy Review.

Player's Complaint

I joined this casino not knowing it was owned by genesis of which i had self excluded previously as i have a gambling problem

I joined with all my details the only difference was the email address

I wagered approx £15000 over the 19th and 20th April and found myself in a winning position of £25500 unusually for me i then pulled my self together and stopped and asked for a withdrawal

I was sent an email to send in documents which i did I checked to see the details on the site to find I was blocked.

I understand the blocking as now i know it is owned by Genesis however I have had no payout at all and no reply to any emails I have sent.

Surely this cannot be correct that they can not payout winnings and keep all bets.

I am devastated at myself but one positive is that this experience has made me seek help and stop gambling.

Please help me find a solution to this problem with casino joy I cannot believe they can prosper from peoples addiction they surely have to return my deposits.

Thank you in advance for any help

Read the casino review

7 Responses

ThePOGG
May 17, 2019

Hi lovethelinks - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Unfortunately there's nothing we can do to help you in this instance. I'll refer you to the terms and conditions of the UKGC approved national self exclusion scheme GamStop:

"GAMSTOP may not be able to spot inaccuracies or other differences in account details, and we may not be able to prevent you accessing accounts you have created using, for example, email addresses that you have not provided to us as part of the registration process."

Given that the regulator approved scheme highlights explicitly that using a different email address is a point where the system may fail, it's fair to assume that the same standards apply to operators. If you've signed up again using a different email address the operator would not by this standard be expected to self exclusion from the previous account.

You should however receive a refund of your deposits. If that has not happened let us know.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

lovethelinks
May 17, 2019

Hi

Thank you so much for your help I realise I was stupid and dont expect the winnings but definitely my deposits returned as i was in a winning position my balance was far greater than the deposits gambled and no bonuses were used.

I have emailed casino joy and had no replies at all.

To date (i checked my bank account today)they have also not refunded any of my deposits

I would really appreciate help with this.

lovethelinks
May 25, 2019

After a long wait I have had this reply. I was in a winning situation I just do not see how they refuse to refund deposits. So people like myself who are addicts are being treated in this way they should not be able to keep my money when I won I understand they will not pay the winnings but surely the deposits should be refunded. Casino Joy Complaints Thu 5/23/2019 1:13 PM Dear [EDIT], Thank you for your patience. I am contacting you from Casino Joy Complaints department, your case has been thoroughly reviewed and we will not be refunding any deposits made on this account. The reason for this is that incorrect registration details were entered intentionally in order to bypass the security system that blocks self-excluded customers from registering. We can see that you made multiple registration attempts prior to this in which all accounts were blocked by the system. In line with our Terms and Conditions, we are not liable for any losses in scenarios where registration details have been amended purposely in order to circumvent the security system. Please see our Terms and Conditions 29.1.5 However, in agreeing to self-exclude, You accept that You have a parallel obligation not to seek to circumvent the self-exclusion. Accordingly, We have no responsibility or liability for any subsequent consequences or losses howsoever caused that You may suffer or incur if You commence or continue to gamble through additional online accounts where You have changed any of the registration details or You provide misleading, inaccurate or incomplete details or otherwise seek to circumvent the self-exclusion agreed. I am sorry if this is not the outcome which you were hoping for, but please be advised that this is the final decision on your case. If you do wish to escalate your complaint you can do so by contacting our ADR IBAS at [EDIT]. Kind regards, Casino Joy Complaints [email protected]

lovethelinks
June 10, 2019

Hi

I have still not received deposits back I wondered if you had any correspondence.

Thanks in advance.

lovethelinks
July 19, 2019

Hi

I am sorry to bother youy again but I have not received any info on this and am becoming worried.

I cannot believe this Casino can keep all my deposits as well as winnings I totally understand they will not pay out the winnings but surely they cannot keep the deposits as well.

I see you confirm Casino Joy is a decent operated so I am hopeful they will be fair in this situation.

I am just a little worried that I have had no correspondence for some months.

I am trying to be patient so sorry for hassling you.

ThePOGG
August 30, 2019

Hi lovethelinks,

Apologies for the delay. There is conflicting information being given out related to how this type of situation should be managed with regard to whether or not deposits should be returned. I'm am still actively discussing this with the regulator and will revert to you when we have a clear answer.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
October 4, 2019

Hi lovethelinks,

I've now concluded our discussion with the regulator regarding this issue.

The regulator has indicated that they would only expect operators to return funds in this type of situation where the operator had failed to take reasonable steps to prevent your registration. Given that since your self-exclusion 11 separate accounts have been automatically blocked at point of registration across the properties on this license and that you only managed to open this account by changing multiple fields of your registration details, the indications I've received from the regulator is that they would consider the operator's efforts to fall within the definition of 'reasonable'.

As such there are no grounds on which we could challenge the operator's actions in this instance. All we could suggest is that if you want the regulator's direct opinion would be to contact the UKGC.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

lovethelinks consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Casino Joy
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • Curacao eGaming
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • Genesis Global Limited

May 17, 2019

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.