unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Cookie – Self exclusion failed

Ruling

Resolved - Both the submitting complainant and Cookie Casino have informed us that this issue has been resolved and the player has received their funds.

Read our Cookie Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Hi the Pogg,

If you don’t mind I will copy the emails to support which have all the relevant information in it.

English is not my first language but if you want a personal message, I will do that but it will have all the information from the emails. Please tell me if you want that.

Thank you and kind regards,

First email:

Hi

Last year I set a self exclusion because of gambling problems from every brand of the license, after closing about 7 casinos I couldn’t login on the next one and the others were closed automatically.

On 4 March this year I received a email that my accounts are activated again while I received a notification when self excluding that my account will not open automatically but only after request and then a cooling down time it will re-open.

But all casinos from this brand were open for me, after a week I started to self exclude them again, and again after about half of the casinos from the license, the others were blocked automatically and couldn’t login in. After reading the terms I understand that if you self exclude for gambling problems, you will be barred from play at all online casinos under the participating license. (Screenshot from terms and conditions)

But the problem now is that I made a account at your casino, with exact the same details as all others and that shouldn’t be possible.

I was self excluded from every brand of the license since 11-03-2020 and was able to create a new account at cookiecasino.com on 19-05-2020 where I made 78 deposits in only 2 weeks time for a total of €1887,19.

Therefore I request a refund for this amount and close the account.

I shouldn’t be able to register a account with the exact same details ( email, phone number, name, address, everything.)

I was unaware that this casino was on the same license from which I am self excluded but when I wanted to close this account I saw it’s the same license.

Answer support:

Dear Player,

At the moment we have closed your account for investigation. As soon as we will have any information we will contact you.

Best regards,

Casino Support Team

Follow up:

Dear Player,

As far as we can see, you have never mentioned your addiction, but simply set a self-exclusion limit for yourself. Due to the fact that you set yourself a limit for six months, you received a notification that the account was active again. If you set a limit for yourself, then this limit is active only on the project on which you set it because you didn’t notify anyone of the addiction, you were not blocked by the platform.

Best regards,

Casino Support Team

Second email:

Hi,

I had all my accounts closed before from this license, I had closed a couple myself and then couldn’t login the next one, and all others were locked not by me.

Then on 4 March I closed them again with the self exclusion tool, when I closed the 7th account, the others were closed but not by me.

You tell me that I didn’t notify anyone about the addiction but following the new rules from the MGA a self exclusion is meant as a closure for gambling problems.

You can read this also here in this article.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-exclusion

And I know that the operator can choose if the exclusion only stands for the brand where the exclusion was set or carry over to other brands from the license.

The fact that it says in the terms and conditions from EUSlots which is under your license that if you self exclude (which you do when you have gambling problems, see wiki link and mga ) that you will be barred from play at all other online casinos under the participating license.

(See screenshot previous message)

And the other fact is that after self exclude from about 7 casinos myself, the others were blocked not by myself, so that worked as it should following the terms.

The only exception is that it did not work by the new cookiecasino and I was able to create a account with exact the same details as I did in every other casino from this license.

E-mail, name, birthdate, phone number, postal code, address and payment method.

So I kindly ask you to review your decision and refund the deposits made while self excluded.

If you don’t agree please let me know and I will submit a complaint at the ADR and MGA.

But I hope we can solve this together.

I will add some links from the ADR decisions about self exclusion and casinos which operate under your license.

https://thepogg.com/complaint/spinia-self-exclusion/

https://thepogg.com/complaint/spinia-self-exclusion-2/

And here you can read about self exclusion that it means that you close your account because of gambling problems

https://thepogg.com/complaint/bovegas-failure-to-honor-self-exclusion/

Kind regards,

Second answer support:

Dear Player,

Please be kindly informed once you'd specified about your addiction we closed your account right away.

Ruefully we cannot debate the refund in this particular case.

Best regards,

Casino Support Team

Read the casino review

15 Responses

ThePOGG
Jun 09, 2020

Hi wondah - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

As we are the ADR for the N1 Interactive Ltd license under the Malta Gaming Authority license there is certain information we have to provide you now.

You can find all the relevant information about this service here – http://thepogg.com/terms-of-use/ and the terms of use for our complaint service here - https://thepogg.com/terms-of-use-for-dispute-resolution-service/

To summarise.

– Use of this service does not preclude your seeking redress through court proceedings .

– This service is free to use for both the complainant and operator.

– At any point during the procedure the submitting party retains the right to withdraw their complaint. This does not preclude our right to continue the discussion with the involved operator of general issues related to the complaint (i.e. insufficiently clear terms and conditions).

– You are not obliged to obtain independent or legal advice or representation, though you may choose to do so.

If you have any questions about the above, let me know.

I'll contact the operator and see what we can find out for you.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
Jun 12, 2020

Hi wondah,

Can you tell me which sites you requested an exclusion at?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

wondah
Jun 12, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

I did the self exclusion myself on Bobcasino,Spinia, King Billy, Paradise casino, Slotwolf, Betamo, Live.casino and EUSlots.com.

It was at EUSlots.com where I’ve read I think for the first time that a self exclusion will be barred over to other properties on the same license. Same as WHG if that’s still the same.

And i should also mention that I made 78 deposits in just over a week at this casino, that should’ve also raise some flags.

Thanks for your help so far..!!

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

wondah
Jun 14, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

English is not my first language and I translated the text but still don’t understand what it means.
Can you explain it a little more for me please?
I found this at some of the complaints here.

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

under MGA regulations a self-exclusion would only extend to accounts registered after the exclusion point if the registration details match those of the excluded account.

ThePOGG
Jun 26, 2020

Hi wondah,

Where specifically did you see EUSlots state "that a self exclusion will be barred over to other properties on the same license"?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

wondah
Jun 26, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

It is at the “terms and conditions” and then all the way down at section “what is self exclusion”.

“ WHAT IS SELF-EXCLUSION?
Setting Self-exclusion lets us know that we need to take all measures to block your access to your account and make sure that you receive no promotional materials. You may also contact our support team at [EDIT] and inform us about your decision to stop gambling at the Website for a certain period of time or forever. Self-exclusion due to gambling problems means that you will be barred from play at all online casinos under the participating licence. “

But this terms is not included if you click the responsible gaming link, there is says....

“ WHAT IS SELF-EXCLUSION?
Setting Self-exclusion lets us know that we need to take all measures to block your access to your account and make sure that you receive no promotional materials. You may also contact our support team at [EDIT] and inform us about your decision to stop gambling at the Website for a certain period of time or forever.”

And following the new rules from the MGA, a self exclusion is an account closure because of gambling problems.

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

ThePOGG
Jun 29, 2020

Hi wondah,

Where did you get that particular quote. As it does not appear on the current Cookie Casino terms and conditions page, which displays the following information:

Thanks,

ThePOGG

wondah
Jun 29, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

It’s at the terms from euslot.com at the section “terms and conditions” and then all the way down at “what is self exclusion”

euslot.com/terms-and-conditions

When i self excluded my account there, i should’ve been barred from playing at all other casinos under the same license.

I created my account at cookiecasino after i was self excluded at every brand from this license except for cookiecasino.

At all other casinos I had a account and was self excluded, but cookiecasino was a new brand and haven’t blocked me from register with all the same details I used at all other casinos.

So following the terms from euslot, I shouldn’t be able to create a account at cookiecasino.

Please let me know if you need anything further.

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

wondah
Jun 29, 2020

I have send you a email with picture and some information, please let me know if you received it.

Thanks

wondah
Jun 30, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

I also found this on your website.

“Another frequently made player error linking to Self-Exclusions is in relation to the stipulation that operators must ensure that there are no subsequent sign-ups by a Self-Excluded player at other properties sharing their license during the period of Self-Exclusion. It should be made explicitly clear that under Responsible Gambling procedures operators are expected to go to reasonable lengths to impede Self-Excluded players from re-registering with them in order to access gambling provision. To be clear, if a Self-Excluded player tries to re-register at an operator using alternative details to the ones entered on their original account (the one under exclusion) then it would likely be beyond the operator’s duty of care to identify this new account as being held by the already Self-Excluded player before this player manages to access gambling services again.”

I used exactly same details in every casino from this brand. So when I register my account at cookiecasino after I had self excluded from euslot, they should’ve blocked me from opening a new account.

But the terms from euslot “that after self exclusion you will be barred from playing at all other casinos under the same license” should be enough I think?

Did you contact the operator already?
I don’t understand why this takes so long, and how are they defending themselves.

How I understand it is....

Euslot.com have in their terms and conditions that after a self exclusion, you will be barred from playing at all casinos under the same license.
I self excluded from euslot, so I shouldn’t be able to play/register at cookie casino.

And all other information I’ve send can be useful but think it’s irrelevant.

-78 deposits in just over a week ( sign of problem gambling, chasing losses)
-All other brand were closed due to the self exclusion except cookiecasino
-used same details everywhere
-your information about responsible gaming that they shouldn’t let me register a account at another brand from same license after self excluded from a casino
-mga info about self exclusion and problem gambling
-wiki information about self exclusion.

Thank you very much for your time to help me, I appreciate it very much.
And that I don’t understand why I takes so long, is not pointing to you, but to the casino.

I have closed every single account now and let my wife change my passwords for my bank account.
But next week we have to pay the bills and rent and we have zero money, so I was hoping they already see they are at fault here and have refund the deposits after self excluded.

Thanks for everything so far.

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

wondah
Jul 05, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

I have send you a email again,
can you pleaseee answer me?

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

wondah
Jul 13, 2020

Any update?

wondah
Jul 14, 2020

Hi the Pogg,

Euslot has now removed that important quote from their terms and conditions.
I have screenshots as evidence and also records from my desktop from the terms.

I will send the screenshots to your email address.

—First screenshot from terms was made on 29-06-2020

With the term included that you will be barred from playing at all other casinos under the participating license.

—second screenshot was made today 15-07-2020.

That the terms and conditions were last updated on
18-06-2020, so the first screenshot with that particular term was taken 11 days after the last change from terms and conditions so it should still be the same.

—3th screenshot taken also today 15-07-2020

That particular term is now removed from the terms and conditions, and following the rules from the license holder MGA, they should add a new “date stamp” on the t&c’s and player have to accept the terms if anything was changed in it.

Kind regards

wondah
Jul 23, 2020

Finally resolved,

First I want to say that I’m happy that it’s resolved now and received the refund of all my deposits.

But it took 1,5 month, which is not a problem at all, if I knew you were in contact with the operator.
And I know you can not update everyone each day about their complaint, but in 6 weeks not even one update....only a question which I already answered in the previous message.

But 6 weeks waiting and really don’t have a idea if you contacted the operator already or even have read my messages and emails, that was a hard time.
And one little update could have changed a lot ( something like: have read the emails and am now discussing this issue with the operator or something like that)

It’s not my intention to be rude or something, I appreciate it very much and happy with the outcome.
But you appreciate it also when you are spending your valuable time on a complaint and the complainant gives an update when it’s resolved instead of walking away with the money and don’t update his complaint.

Kind regards,

[EDIT]

ThePOGG
Jul 23, 2020

Hi wondah,

While we appreciated the feedback, we have hundreds of open complaints at any given time. All of these complainants would request updates. Providing updates to all requests when we have no new information to communicate simply places additional strain on our resources and would result in the average wait for complaints to be resolved increasing.

We clearly detail our policies on responses both on every complaint page and in the complaint FAQs specifically to ensure complainants know our policies on responding to 'update requests'.

Thank you for letting us know you have received your funds.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

wondah consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Cookie Casino
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • N1 Interactive Ltd

June 8, 2020

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.