ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Netbet - withholding first deposit bonus

Ruling

Found for the Casino - While we understand this player is disappointed, Netbet are within their rights to decide which players to provide promotional incentives to.

Read our Netbet Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

I was awarded a £40 matched bet on my initial deposit. My bonuses were then frozen hence I could not access my extra money after my bet was settled.

Read the casino review

15 Responses

ThePOGG
October 10, 2018

Hi robogle - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Have you spoken to Netbet about this issue? What reason have they given for freezing your bonus?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
October 17, 2018

Hi robogle,

I'm following-up on the above?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
October 24, 2018

Hi robogle,

I'm following-up on the above again?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
November 1, 2018

Hi robogle,

If we haven't heard from you by Friday the 9th of November I'll assume you no longer need our assistance with this issue and close this complaint.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

robogle
November 1, 2018

Hi ThePOGG, sorry for my late reply. The chat operator said as follows: "Your use of our bonus system has reached its limit, as stated in our Terms and Conditions. Your player account can no longer benefit from any promotional bonuses until further notice. You retain full access to your account and can keep playing with your cash balance on all your favourite games. Please note that your situation will be periodically reviewed and you could benefit from future bonuses when you meet the requirements. For more information, please read our Bonus Terms and Conditions." No further information was given. I can send the full transcript if required. Kind regards, [EDIT]

ThePOGG
November 5, 2018

Hi robogle,

And this was your first deposit and first bonus?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

robogle
November 5, 2018

Technically it was my second. I originally deposited £10. I contacted chat when I realised I had missed out on my bonus. I was granted a matched bonus up to £40 on my next deposit. I made the deposit and recieved nothing. I contacted the chat operator to recieve a very cold and vague response.

ThePOGG
November 9, 2018

Hi robogle,

In order to continue our discussion with Netbet we need you to provide Netbet with a permission letter authorising them to share details regarding your account. I have emailed you a template for this letter which you need to complete and return.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
November 19, 2018

Hi robogle,

I'm following-up on the above letter?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
November 27, 2018

Hi robogle,

We cannot move forward with this case without the above discussed permission letter.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
December 6, 2018

Hi robogle,

I've discussed this issue with Netbet who inform me that while they have taken the decision to restrict your access to any future promotions, you were credited with your free bet on the 24th of September and Netbet inform us that you have used this.

Can you provide further clarification of what the issue is?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

robogle
December 6, 2018

Dear ThePOGG, It's quite simple, my initial deposit was £10, and I received a £10 bonus. I then asked the operator if I could claim the remaining £40 bonus on my next deposit. The operator agreed to this and said I would receive a £40 bonus on my next deposit. So I deposited and found they had made me "unavailable" for bonuses. Kind regards, [EDIT]

ThePOGG
December 10, 2018

Hi robogle,

In the intervening time the decision was taken to restrict your promotional access likely due to the manner in which you used the first bonus. Further to this, the bonus very likely carried terms that stipulated that it could only be claimed as a single deposit.

As your subsequent deposit was not tied in to bonus terms and conditions and you would be free to withdraw it at any time, while it may be frustrating not to have received it there's no grounds for us to pursue the issue further.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

robogle
December 10, 2018

I simply bet the initial bonus, I don't understand why this would be a problem. That said, I am confused as to how I have no grounds to ask them to unfreeze my bonus, after I received confirmation that I would be awarded it on the chat.

ThePOGG
December 10, 2018

Hi robogle,

There's no further issue for us to pursue as you've not been disadvantaged in any way. Netbet are a private company and entirely within their rights to decide who they will provide promotional incentives to. If your deposit was in some way restricted then there would be an issue here. But simply having concluded after reviewing the manner in which you used the initial promotion that you are not a customer they wish to provide further incentives to is something that they are within their rights to do. In this instance you haven't spent money under pretext that you would receive a promotion that you were later refused. As I understand it your deposit is there in its entirety for you to withdraw.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

robogle consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

October 10, 2018

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.