ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Play Million - confiscating 8000 win

Ruling

Found for the Casino - A mistake by a VIP host lead to a player being given a No Deposit Bonus with an abnormally small maximum withdrawal limit. Play Million's terms regarding NDBs are clear and have been enforced correctly, but this has left an unhappy player who understandably was under erroneous expectations regarding the rules of the bonus.

Read our Play Million Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

Deposit 1000 got 1000 bonus lost it but made a huge wagering. VIP agent called me, there was a weekend race and if I was registered I had the 3th spot which is 225 prize. She told me she will give me out of goodwill gesture this price it will be a bonus. I played it up to 8000 withdraw another VIP agent called me to confirm the withdraw method and congrats me and the day after that they should process it I get email that the withdraw has been canceled and this time they said give goodwill gesture again of 225 but this will be cash instead of bonus this time. I think its robbery this bonus she gave me has cap of 100 and i believe this should not be a no deposit bonus since its came from a wagering from deposit... and attached to my last deposit which the price has been gained...overall i like to see my winnings to get paid.. I been highrolling with them for always never made deposit less then 500 that they make this bad decision to ruin their on reputation on this.

hope we can come to a agreement.

regards

[EDIT]

Read the casino review

8 Responses

User icon
ThePOGG
October 28, 2013

Hi HQC_88 - thanks for getting in contact.

I'll get in contact with Play Million just now and see what we can work out.

I'll let you know as soon as I hear anything back.

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
October 28, 2013

Could you provide me with the email address and username you use at Play Million?

Thanks

ThePOGG

User icon
HQC_88
October 28, 2013

[EDIT] username is [EDIT] thanks for quick help

User icon
ThePOGG
October 30, 2013

Hi HQC_88,

Just to keep you informed, I've heard back from Play Million who are discussing this issue internally.

Please bare with me.

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
November 6, 2013

Hi HQC_88

I've received an email from Play Million part of which I'll quote below;

"We have already discussed the issue with the player in question extensively and explained our position. We've provided the player with all the information about his situation. We do not really see the benefit of answering again in a private forum. We are also concerned about player privacy. If you can convince us there would be a benefit of discussing this again through your site and that it will remain 100% confidential, we can consider it."

I've explained at length the process, how we handle privacy concerns and what the benefits of engaging in this type of conversation are, but reading between the lines in the above statement, it seems fair to conclude that Play Million are not interested in any form of resolution other than the one they've already offered and given the lack of response it also seems fair to conclude that they do not see the benefits of entertaining any discussion about the issue.

I'll leave it until Friday to see if they respond.

Thank

ThePOGG

User icon
ThePOGG
November 14, 2013

Ok I've left this long enough.

Play Million did respond, and provided some useful information;

1) Play Million have clear terms regarding No Deposit Bonuses (any bonus funds added to a players account that do not require a deposit to trigger) and they are as follow;

"If you receive free money (no deposit bonus/refer a friend bonus, etc), the maximum amount that you can win or withdraw from it is €100. Any winnings greater than €100, including winnings subsequently won from with that money even after any deposit, will be removed from your account. Winnings can refer to any winning payouts in any game in the Casino including but not limited to jackpot payouts. A bonus is also considered free if it is added to your account manually by the support department when your real money balance is less than your most recent deposit."

The above clearly defines what the maximum winnings from any NDB will be. However it is very unusual to offer a) such a large NDB and b) a NDB with a maximum withdrawal of only a fraction of the bonus size.

When we pointed that out to Play Million their response was

"when it comes to tournament prizes players who register receive the prize in cash. However, if a player comes up as a winner in the tournament for the first time who didn't register, we contact the player and offer him part of the prize amount as a bonus with our standard bonus terms and conditions. This is a way to inform the player of the tournament so he is aware of it in future and also a goodwill gesture from us. In this case, there was a mistake and the person who gave the bonus gave the whole full amount, (even though it was a very high amount) and not just part of it. This is what caused the problem in the first place. It was an internal error in the amount of the bonus we gave"

The terms are clear in this case so there's no grounds for me to rule against the casino. However by mistakenly giving the player such a high NDB Play Million created an expectation, albeit one that is not reinforced by terms. That being the case this becomes about retention of a valued customer and how finding a balance between meeting expectation and the value of the customer. In this case we suggested a arrangement where a larger portion of the balance would be credited or a wagering requirement could be attached to some of the balance. Given the lack of further response I can only assume that Play Million did not feel that HQC_88's play was worth more than the £100 they'd cashed out and the additional £200 they'd been given in compensation.

That is not intended as a facetious statement nor am I passing comment on Play Million in any way shape or form - assessing a customer's value is something that can only be done by looking at their deposit, bonus and play history.

While HQC_88 has represented themselves as a mid to high roller and if that's the case my instinct is that they should be worth more than the settlement that was offered, I have not seen the relevant play histories and as such it's impossible for me to make any valid assessment of the value of their patronage .

The bottom line here is that the size of the NDB does create an expectation of being able to withdraw more than the £100 limit (£300 once the additional compensation is included) and this has lead to a understandable unhappy customer. But as the terms are clear this boiled down to how far the casino were willing to go to reconcile the situation.

User icon
HQC_88
November 15, 2013

hi so th casino not response to your last email?

i also agree it takin too long to reply.. what u suggest me to do further ask CasinoMeister maybe to take a look?

User icon
ThePOGG
November 19, 2013

Hi HQC_88,

There really isn't much more you can do about this. The simple fact is that the term was applied absolutely accurately. As such no-one, including their regulator, will rule against them for enforcing it.

The bottom line here is that this comes down to a business decision about how much your play was worth to Play Million. Given that they have refused to even discuss offering anything beyond the initial £300 they provide, I think you've got an answer to that question. I certainly wouldn't discourage speaking to CasinoMeister, but in all honesty - and this is in no way meant as a sleight - I really doubt that they'll be able to get any other answer than the one I've received.

Sorry I couldn't be of further help.

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

HQC_88 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

October 28, 2013

United Kingdom country flag

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.