unclaimed offers
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Redbet – double standards

Ruling

Found for the Player - Despite offering Redbet every opportunity to resolve this issue we have not received a satisfactory response to this issue.

Read our Redbet Casino Review.

Player's Complaint

I recently signed up to Redbet and has some success. After withdrawal verification was taking an age, so I inevitably reversed the withdrawal and lost (which is what they want of course).

My issue is this. Upon further reading on their policies on slow verifications and payouts, I see that Redbet confiscate winnings and refund deposits from players who have previously excluded from Mr Green. Upon initially signing up I was unaware that these two casinos were connected (they operate on different UKGC licenses). Now, I have played at Redbet on more than one occasion since my permanent self exclusion with Mr Green (in 2014).

If Redbet are confiscating winnings from players who are excluded with Mr Green, how can they keep my losses from those in the same situation? I've contacted them about this and they keep delaying response.

Read the casino review

6 Responses

ThePOGG
Sep 30, 2019

Hi It186 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Unfortunately there is nothing we can do to help you in this instance.

Firstly, the maximum length of self-exclusion that an operator is required to offer UK players is 5 years, which means it is very likely your 2014 exclusion had already expired.

Secondly, the nature of this complaint is one that is reserved for the regulator to review. All we can suggest is that you contact the UKGC who will investigate if they feel there is an issue.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

lt186
Sep 30, 2019

Hi thanks for your reply. I contacted MrGreen who advised that I was excluded permanently. If Redbet are confiscating winnings and voiding bets from players excluded with MrGreen then surely this has to work both ways.

Chat started on 30 Sep 2019, 12:18 PM (GMT+0)
[EDIT]

lt186
Sep 30, 2019

Please edit to remove my personal details. thanks

ThePOGG
Oct 01, 2019

Hi lt186,

I've had a look back through our records and I can see that you submitted a similar complaint against the same group in 2015 under the username 'lee'.

While we do not have all the details associated with that complaint on record any more, I can see that this user account was registered with a different email address to the one associated with lt186.

If, in a similar fashion, you have changed the information that you registered your MrGreen account under away from the information that was used to register your initial account the operator would be far less likely to be considered accountable for carrying your self-exclusion over to other accounts.

I'll contact the operator and see what we can find out for you.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

lt186
Oct 01, 2019

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I play at so many casinos I lose track as I admittedly have issues with gambling. The only details I will have changed will be email addresses (and potentially mobile number as is common when switching network) With MrGreen I signed up with an o2.co.uk email address. When o2 closed their isp they also stopped customers from using their o2 email addresses and subsequently I moved to BTinternet and use addresses from them now. This is in no way a ruse to circumvent an exclusion, I didn't even know the two casinos were linked until I started researching as to why verification was taking an age. Furthermore all other details will have been the same, name, address, DOB, post code etc.

Had I won, the evidence is clear that my exclusion at Mr Green would have resulted in my winnings being confiscated and deposits returned.

I unwittingly entered a no-win situation here.

The casino cannot, surely, decide to confiscate winnings from players excluded at Mr Green yet keep losses in the same scenario. I ask the question, if I had won, would they let me have keep my winnings because my Mr Green email address was different? Undoubtedly not.

ThePOGG
Dec 20, 2019

Hi lt186,

We've allowed the operator some extra flexibility in terms of time to address this issue in the hopes of establishing a working dialogue for all complaints but sadly this has not materialised. At this juncture I think it is reasonable to say that it is very unlikely that we will receive any response to this issue.

Sorry we could not be of more help!

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

lt186 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Redbet
  • Gibraltar Gambling Commission
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • United Kingdom Gambling Commission
  • Evoke Gaming Ltd

September 30, 2019

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.

Disclaimer:

The above information is what we believe to be the the legal status of online gambling, however information on this topic is limited and hard to find. We accept no liability for any errors or ommissions. It is the reader’s responsibility to ensure that they know the legality of online gambling in their country before engaging with any online gambling service.