unclaimed offers
Turn geo location off

Choose a country to view the site from

Currently viewing from:

United States


ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
[X] Close this form and return to site

Riviera Play – Not adhering to self exclude request

Ruling

Found for the Player - Riviera Play appear to have fundamentally failed to maintain their responsible gambling policies and have not refunded the player.

Player's Complaint

Hello

Please can you help I couldn't find casino on your list but I really need your help

Basically I have a gambling problem- I've stated this on another post.

Anyway , a couple of weeks ago "[EDIT]" from RivieraPlay casino emailed me stated I'd opened an account a while back and that I hadn't deposited and had a free £10 so I played it then stupidly deposited £25 .

After this I emailed her to say I had a problem was self excluded from a lot of other sites and to close this account as there is no facility to do this myself in the account .

To cut a long story short , they have not closed my account and after depositing over £1450 on about 4 occasions they still won't I email them after I lapse every time begging them to exclude me and if I could please have my money refunded as I had previously stated my problem but they haven't acknowledged me at anytime , live chat never answer.

At one point she said she would reverse £300 but put it in my casino account knowing I would play it - and I did - its obvious!

I'm not blaming them for my problem but they don't care and just keep taking my money - I'm depressed , I've told them this I can't control it and can't afford to lose this money I know I shouldn't have done it .

They have emailed today to say my card has been blocked from their site but I can still use neteller ! They just aren't listening .

Is there anything you can do I'm desperate

Thanks

babagirlb

Read the casino review

12 Responses

ThePOGG
May 01, 2017

Hi babagirlb - welcome back!

Unfortunately it's very unlikely we'll be able to do anything to help you in this instance. Riviera Play are again an unlicensed operator so they're already breaking UK law by allowing UK citizens to play with them.

The Curacao license that they do hold also doesn't place any responsible gambling restrictions on the operator.

While I will make efforts to contact the operator you need to be aware from the outset that this is not likely to result in a return of funds.

I'll let you know if we hear anything.

ThePOGG

babagirlb
May 01, 2017

Hello thank you for your response, why are they allowed to do this it's disgusting!

Is there anyway I can ask my bank to reverse the deposits I'm desperate- I can't believe they do this to people .

Is there anyone else I can contact ?

ThePOGG
May 02, 2017

Hi babagirlb,

Can you forward on the email you sent to Riviera Play requesting that they close your account due to problem gambling issues to webmaster@thepogg.com?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
May 03, 2017

Hi babagirlb,

Thanks for sending that through, however what I need to see is your email to the operator in response to the promotional email stating that you wanted to be self-excluded. If you could please forward this to webmaster@thepogg.com.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
May 03, 2017

Hi babagirlb,

Thanks again for your email. However, we do NOT have an email showing you requesting a self-exclusion. We have the promotional email and we have the email you've just forwarded showing your discussion with the operator after your play, but we do not have anything in between.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

ThePOGG
May 03, 2017

Hi babagirlb,

I need to know the dates of the play that you're looking to have voided occurred on.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

babagirlb
May 03, 2017

Hi I think the dates of play are £700 between 26th -29th April , this is showing as 2nd may on my bank statement

£600 between 12th-13th April this is showing as 18th April on my statement

Is this what you need ? There is no transaction facility on the my account section on the casino site for me to double check

Thanks

babagirlb
May 11, 2017

Hello just to update you they still haven't closed the account and keep sending promotions.

They refunded £600 of the £1300 but I haven't had £700 back as yet .

Did they get back to you ?

Thanks

ThePOGG
May 15, 2017

Hi babagirlb,

Could I ask you to withdraw that £600 immediately? That is as a result of my conversations with Riviera Play, but they are very reluctant to do more. Before I push harder I'd prefer that you'd at least got that £600, rather than risk them deciding they're not going to pay anything.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

babagirlb
May 15, 2017

Hello they actually returned it to my bank as payments went to them £200 , £300 , £50 and £50 . I really hope you can get the other £700 as they obviously know they shouldn't have taken it

ThePOGG
May 24, 2017

Hi babagirlb,

Unfortunately Riviera Play casino have now cut off communication with us. They deny ever having received any communications from you requesting to self-exclude and have refused to accept the emails we've provided as legitimate.

It should also be noted that they've also provided inaccurate information regarding your account, stating that it was opened only the week before your complaint came in, and that they deny sending any further promotional emails despite the emails that you've forward to us.

There position is that they've refunded the €600 as a compromise as you were high risk of issuing a charge back.

In our opinion the operator has clearly failed in their responsible gambling duties in this instance. Whether this failure is due to their system incorrectly flagging your communications as spam or due to malicious intent, we cannot say. Regardless the failure is at their end and the full balance of deposits should have been returned to you once they became aware of the issue.

Unfortunately at this stage we have no reasonable expectations of this situation changing and given the lack of verifiable licensing information provided on their site we cannot even direct you to a regulator to escalate your complaint.

Sorry we could not be of further help.

ThePOGG

babagirlb
May 24, 2017

Hello they have closed the account . Can I still ask for a charge back ? The back won't refund it until they have a letter from
SSC entertainment- in my eyes this is fraud !

Can I report it to the bank as fraud and get it back ?

Is there anyone I can take it further to I feel like they have stolen from me !

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.