ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United Kingdom

Zen Casino - Failed self exclusion

Ruling

Found for the Player - Zen Casino are operating predatory responsible gambling policies that place artificial barriers between players and self-exclusions.

Read our Zen Casino Reviews.

Player's Complaint

Hi. On 9 October 2020 I did requested to be self excluded permanently by ticket system ( the live support couldn't do this for me). I did thinking that my account has been finally self excluded permanently. Because of my gambling compulsive disease, I did logged again on 16th of September this year and deposited and played 300 euros. They failed to apply the self exclusion. I did contacted them on live chat explaining that I do have gambling issues and they said that because I failed to send an email with plenty of additional information, they just reactivated my account after 6 days of my self exclusion request, which is really unacceptable. I do have screenshots of the request and now I saw that they asked my about 7-8 questions like my name, address and so on to be able to self exclusion myself. They have all of this information on file as I did verified my account and also I requested this throughout my account on their website.

Read the casino review

6 Responses

User icon
thepogg
September 21, 2021

Hi john12 - welcome to ThePOGG.com!

Please confirm the url of the operator you are complaining about.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
john12
September 21, 2021

Hello.

The url is: https://www.zencasino.com/

As it says their T&C:

Closing an account:

You can make self exclusion at section PLAY OK in your profile and your account will be closed permanently.

That's far from being true.

Thank you!

User icon
john12
September 27, 2021

Hi.

What email confirmation did you needed when I had requested a self exclusion on my account via PLAY OK?

On your website at Responsible gambling states the following phrase:

Closing an account:

You can make self exclusion at section PLAY OK in your profile and your account will be closed permanently.

You closed my account and then sent me a reply via ticket system which were impossible anyway to read it as my account has been closed for 7 days.

"In our opinion, the player is trying to manipulate the situation in order to gain benefits." --> your opinion is wrong. You just use an awful practice and trying to find excuses to steal money from the vulnerable customers.

"We are requesting email confirmation to be sure that player wants to close his account and game account access wasn't available any third party." --> This is a very BIG lie as you surly can see the history of the login IPs, location, cookies and so on.

Please stop lying and recognize that you as taking advantage of the people who needs the most the help to stop and you are just trying to make almost impossible for them to close/self exclude their account on their request.

User icon
thepogg
October 10, 2021

Hi john12,

Having discussed this issue with the operator sadly we have been unable to resolve this matter.

The operator's position is that you did not respond to their email verification of the self-exclusion request. Zen Casino would represent that this process is put in place to ensure the security of player accounts. We cannot support this policy nor agree with the reasoning presented for its inclusion.

If we look at the basic facts, where someone requests a self-exclusion on an account, the risks to the player are minimal where a 3rd party has gained unauthorised access (they lose access to this account for the period of the exclusion), whereas the potential risk leaving the account open is that a gambling addict causes themselves significant financial harm. When we then consider the financial incentives for the opperator to allow vulnerable players to harm themselves in this fashion, it's clear that this type of verification policy is not in fact there to protect players, but serves as an additional block between a vulnerable player and closing their account.

Sorry we could not be of further help.

ThePOGG

User icon
john12
October 10, 2021

Thank you for your time.

I am wondering if Curacao gambling provider can get involved in this case?

I can see that they changed their "Responsible Gaming" terms. It doesn't say anything that the account will be closed permanently if I request the self exclusion through play OK but rather to send an email.

This policy wasn't in place before, I have pasted before their terms + I have a screenshot. Seems that they have changed after I have complained about it.

However, If nothing can be done/contacting the Curacao gambling provider, I can understand and I thank you for your involvement.

User icon
thepogg
October 17, 2021

Hi john12,

Our experience with the Curacao regulatory system has been that they do very little to assist players with complaints. We certainly wouldn't discourage you from trying, but would caution against getting your hopes up.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

john12 consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Zen
  • Curacao
  • RR Investments N.V.

September 19, 2021

United Kingdom country flag

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland sits to the north-west of mainland Europe. The United Kingdom shares a border with The Republic of Ireland and has coasts on the Atlantic Ocean, Celtic Sea, North Sea, Irish Sea and English Channel. The population of the UK is approaching the 67.6 million mark leading to a fairly densely populated land mass. The gambling sector in the United Kingdom is entirely regulated and licensed by the UKGC – the United Kingdom Gambling Commission. Should players resident In the UK wish to gamble with foreign based operators there is no history of this being treated as a criminal offence, but high levels of protection exist for UK residents playing with UK licensed operators.