ThePOGG.com – your source for reliable information about online gambling.


  • Over 2k complaints managed and $2 million returned to players.
  • The largest collection of detailed casino reviews available online.
  • Bonus value reports to tell you how bonuses really compare.
  • Detailed game guides to help you learn to play.

I certify that I am over 18 years of age and I have read and agreed to the:

We respect your privacy and won't share your email address.
Aweber logo
[X] Close this form and return to site
Close geo
Turn geolocation on
Locale settings

Currently viewing:

English in United States

Unibet - Non protection vulnerable

Ruling

Resolved - The submitting complainant has informed us that this issue has been resolved and that they have received their funds.

Read our Unibet Review.

Player's Complaint

Good afternoon,

From 2010 to 2021 I played at Unibet where I completely lost track of myself, mainly in 2019 and 2020.

My loses all years

2010: € 2.474,18

2011: € 3.590,10

2012: € 4.865,50

2013: € 6.970,35

2014: € 537,50

2015: € 80,00

2016: € 4.819,00

2017: € 3.320,00

2018: € 5.290,00

2019: € 31.326,50

2020: € 15.268,86

2021: € 1.673,13

Now I want to know how all this could have happened. I went into debt in 2014 because I had built up a huge debt burden due to my gambling addiction. That also explains the reason that I was not or hardly able to play in 2014 and 2015. But mainly in the years 2019 and 2020, the contra-indicators / alarm bells should go off and action should be taken because there were various signs of gambling problems. The expenses have increased so explicitly in those years compared to the years before (2019 x7 and 2020 x3.5), I also regularly played at night and at unusual times. I canceled realized gains in the hope of recouping my losses. In my opinion Unibet should have intervened and protected me as this was no longer healthy and could only get out of hand in the end, which it did. I have suffered enormous financial and personal problems because of this.

My question is, is there anything I can do with this? And can I get a refund?

Read the casino review

17 Responses

User icon
thepogg
May 18, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood - welcome back!

Did you at any point tell the operator you were struggling with gambling addiction? Did you self-exclude or use other Responsible Gambling tools? Did you tell the operator that you could not afford to play?

You may find our free Responsible Gambling app BetBlocker useful. It allows users to restrict their internet capable devices from accessing over 15k gambling operator websites for between 24 hours and 5 years.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 19, 2022

I have took more than ones rest periods it was only for a maximum of 6 months. If I could self-excluded for life time I would do it in 2014 when I got big financial and personally problems because of my addiction and got hulp for it to take care off that problems.

But by the way casinos have a duty of care if they are active in the Netherlands, whether or not with a license. Part of this is that vulnerable players and/or players with gambling problems must be protected from themselves. If the casino knew or should have known that you suffer from gambling addiction,

then that certainly offers opportunities to reclaim (part of) your loss in law.

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 19, 2022

19-3-2014 untill 3-11-2014

3-11-2014 untill 21-4--2015

21-4-2015 untill 24-3-2016

24-3-2016 untill 13-11-2016

15-11-2016 untill 23-9-2017

25-9-2017 untill 26-4-2018

26-4-2018 untill 17-9-2018

5-12-2018 untill 27-3-2019

Lots of many breaks or signs to see it

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 19, 2022

The self-excluded was 3, 6 or 12 months maximun so not 6.

User icon
thepogg
May 22, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

Any requirements under Dutch laws are part of the Dutch licensing system. You would need to check whether Unibet hold a Dutch license. Otherwise the MGA license would be the pertinent set of standards. If you are looking to enforce Dutch standards, this is not a matter we can assist you with.

Further to this, the Dutch licensing did not come into place until 2020. As such the standards it requires would not apply to play before this point.

And the MGA Player Protection Directive did not come into place until 2018. While there were standards prior to this, they were a lot more lax.

Were any of your exclusions not enforced appropriately? Did the operator let you play during these exclusions without enforcing a cooling-off period prior to allowing you to reaccess?

To speak directly, there is not much scope within the MGA licensing system to require the operator to interpret your actions without a direct instruction/indication from you. Where you have been using the responsible gambling tools, and the operator has enforced these tools operation appropriately, unless there was some substantial other reason to believe that you were not in control of your actions, the operator would not be expected to take further action.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 23, 2022

So if I spend as much in one night as I normally spend in an entire year, can the casino just let this happen? Also my withdrawals between 2018 and 2020 was just 300 euro. Because when I was winning some money I always played until I lost everything again and this happends more than ones. This all had to do with my gambling addiction. My losses where over that years (2018 untill 2020) total € 45.385,36. So where has the responsibility to play responsibly? They never contacted me about my losses from 2018 to 2021.

Furthermore, I have indicated several times in the chat that I cannot control myself.

User icon
thepogg
May 23, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

Whether or not the operator would be expected to take actions in response to that would very much depend on the regulatory system they are functioning within. But a) this is not an operator that we can act in any official capacity against b) this is not an operator that is cooperative with this service and c) we have yet to encounter a case where the MGA have asserted that a licensee should have taken action to prevent a player playing based on increases in activity levels alone.

Do you have records of the chat communications where you told the operator that you cannot control your play?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 23, 2022

I have read that Unibet works with a player safety early detection with which it analyzes gaming behaviour. But in my case this didn`t work.

It is not just that expenditure has explicitly increased from the end of 2018 to the end of 2020. I also got a loan on 14 nov 2019 of 6000 euro that same night I spend 4900 euro in just 1.5 hour. There are more factors that indicate that I was no longer in control at the time. I played regularly in the night hours. Even transferred money with my credit card and applepay. I just gamble to make up for irresponsible losses (big peaks late 2018 to late 2020, drop 2014 and 2015), that`s reason why my expenses have increased so explicitly from the end of 2018 to the end of 2020. After every loss when I lost all of my money I immediately asked several times for a bonus for my losses.

User icon
thepogg
May 23, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

We could not comment on what internal processes Unibet may or may not have in place to detect potential gambling issues, but I can say with absolute confidence that operators will gravitate towards what the license in play requires. As such, where a stronger license is held, they will deploy more robust systems.

Do you have records of the chat communications where you told the operator that you cannot control your play?

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 25, 2022

Hello, I have saved some conversations from 2014 untill 2019 where I am asking how to close my account for lifetime because I couldn’t control my self. I have asked unibet for all my chat history 2010 untill now. But they are telling me that it would take 31 days until I will get it.

User icon
thepogg
May 29, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

Please obtain the records from the operator, go through them and locate any points where you have informed the operator of your issues.

The blunt reality is that there is very little chance that we will be able to assist you directly with this matter - this operator is non-cooperative with our complaint service - but if the evidence is sufficient we may be able to guide you regarding how to pursue your case further.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
May 31, 2022

Okay I will send a couple of conversations. Can you please tell me where I need to send it? I can`t add it here.

User icon
thepogg
May 31, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

Please include what you feel to be the most relevant exerts here as quotes.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
June 1, 2022

Sorry what do you mean?

User icon
thepogg
June 1, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

I mean that you need to go through the communication records when you receive them and copy and paste anything that you feel is relevant here.

Thanks,

ThePOGG

User icon
Zwollyhood
June 9, 2022

I am getting some money back so you can close this

User icon
thepogg
June 11, 2022

Hi Zwollyhood,

Thanks for letting us know - it is appreciated :)

ThePOGG

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Agreement

Zwollyhood consented for ThePOGG to act on their behalf and share the personal information that they provide to ThePOGG with the following agencies for the purposes of resolving their complaint:

  • Unibet
  • Malta Gaming Authority
  • Platinum Gaming Limited

May 18, 2022

United States country flag